FOTD: Japanese-Inspired Look

Don’t jump to conclusions with this one. I’m not talking about anime. Lately, I’ve been able to look at lots of Japanese ladies in their 20’s to early 30’s, and I’ve noticed that the common thread is their penchant for minimalist makeup looks. It’s quite a huge contrast from the high school lasses who opt for ultra-trendy, kawaii looks both in their clothing and makeup choices. Here’s my take on Japanese minimalism:

The most important point is to have clear, glowing skin. I noticed none of the ladies looked like they had any foundation on, but their faces were generally clear, fair, and radiant. Is there something in the water, or is there something in the moisturizer?! I don’t have the same quality of skin, so I had to use BB cream and illuminating loose powder to achieve a similar effect. Then I focused on well-defined brows and thick gel liner on the upper lash line, because everyone had immaculately shaped brows and most of them had thick eyeliner on even when they didn’t bother with the eyeshadow. Finally, I polished the look off with a little bit of Clinique Blushing Blush in Iced Lotus, some sheer lipstick with a hint of shimmer (Clinique Chubby Stick in Mega Melon), and some Canmake Highlighter.

Konnichiwa!

Excuse the BB color. It’s lighter than my natural tone, but I had to try it out for a review.

 

2 thoughts on “FOTD: Japanese-Inspired Look

Leave a comment