Maybelline Color Tattoo 24hr Eyeshadow in Tough as Taupe

The ideal makeup has got to be one that gives the right amount of color, stays on until you’re ready to remove it, and doesn’t cost too much. Maybelline is trying to achieve that with Color Tattoo By EyeStudio 24hr Eyeshadow. Mine is in Tough as Taupe (PHP 375 in department stores, BUT this particular shade isn’t readily available locally; try Bon Marche Page).

Yes, I’m guilty of having already used the shadow before shooting it

It’s a neutral matte greige that’s natural enough for daily use.

Pros:

  • If you do the right prep work, it does last the whole day. Meaning, use a primer/foundation/concealer, then set with powder. Without the prep work, it WILL crease on oily lids.
  • It may not look like a lot of product since closer inspection will reveal that the bottom is hollow, but you also don’t need that much to get noticeable color.
  • Good price.

Just glass at the bottom

Cons:

  • Maybe I’m just not used to it, but I find application a little tricky. I like to use my fingers because the formula has a dry-creamy consistency, and my ring finger can dab precisely. The problem is in the building-up. One layer is nice, but if I want something bolder, it becomes all too easy to overdo. Product tends to cling to my finger pads, so application is too light at first but rapidly becomes too much. It’s hard to get to that in-between place, unless I’m constantly wiping my fingers on a piece of tissue to prevent build-up.
  • Locally, the shades available are limited to metallic.

Use for a natural everyday look

Tip: Master proper application and you’re good to go. If you haven’t gotten the technique down pat yet, don’t use it on-the-go. There will be a lot of pulling on the skin as you try to fix it. Ouch.

3 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Tattoo 24hr Eyeshadow in Tough as Taupe

  1. […] Maybelline Color Tattoo Eyeshadow! I’ve had this pot for quite some time now, and I pretty much forgot about it already. Last Sunday, I was shopping the stash, and it occurred to me that a neutral brownish-gray could do with a revamp. Plus, I’d get more use out of it before it dries up on me. Step 1: Use a neutral, long-wear cream shadow as a base color and shadow primer. […]

Leave a comment