Fanny Serrano Eyeshadow in Glamour Peach

Know what I first heard about Fanny Serrano? That he used to be/still is (?) Sharon Cuneta’s beloved makeup artist. I got this info from my mom, the die hard Sharonian. Apart from that, I knew about his status as makeup artist to some top-notch artistas (actors/actresses), and I briefly noted that he launched his own brand of drugstore makeup for the masses. Yes, I’ve seen the spread at my local Watson’s but was never truly tempted to buy until the Fanny Serrano Eyeshadows went on sale (now only PHP 150)—for I am a sale freak, and that’s how they [the brands] get me.

Then there were further delays that inadvertently prevented me from taking the plunge. The first time I was there, the color of eyeshadow that I wanted turned out to be unavailable just when I decided to make the purchase. The second and third times I visited the counter, I had just purchased some other beauty product and felt guilty if I had to add yet another one to my overgrown collection so soon. What finally pushed me over the edge were the positive reviews by Carina and Shari that I read. Good reviews and a sale price? I was a goner. I got the two shades I’ve been lusting after for so long.

Fanny Serrano Glamour Peach and Diamond Champagne

This review will be a two-parter. Today I’ll be talking about Glamour Peach, a sheer, shimmery baby peach eyeshadow. This is the closest I can get to choosing a neutral base color from the Fanny Serrano selection. I think some of the other colors are already phased out, so what’s left is mostly shimmery. Here’s what it looks like on my lids:

As you can see, I decided to use it as a base, but this can also add texture to a flatter shadow color. Maybe it can double as a highlighter for the brows and cheeks, but be aware that some of the shimmer pigments aren’t so finely milled. What surprised me was that I didn’t experience much fall out, considering the shimmery nature of this shadow. As Shari said, the feel isn’t exactly butter-soft, but I’m used to that from all my years of drugstore shadows. As for lasting power, I layered another Fanny Serrano shadow over it, so I can’t speak for it individually. As a combination of both shadows, however, they lasted long even after walking in the sun and sweating away. (I’ll be reviewing the other color tomorrow.)

If you’re not a stickler for buttery-feel shadows and are looking for a budget-friendly option, Fanny Serrano is the brand for you. Your moolah will get you 4 g worth of product and a packaging that’s satisfyingly sleek.

Update 6/18: Apparently, this color CAN double as a highlighter. I tried it today, and it turned out to be natural-looking. With the photos above, I think the light reflection made the glitter particles look bigger than they actually were.

One thought on “Fanny Serrano Eyeshadow in Glamour Peach

Leave a Reply

