Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow Brightening Makeup

Foundations, foundations…. I’m swimming in them! These last few months, I’ve veered away from my beloved BB creams in order to educate myself in the universe that is foundation. When I gave them a chance, I learned the joys of having a seamlessly even-colored face—providing you’re using a shade that’s a perfect match to your skin. To continue the journey, I’ve started using Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow! Brightening Makeup in Petal (PHP 1,900).

Active Ingredients

Now, a little background story. Petal has never been the right shade for me. I’m more of an Ivory girl myself. This particular bottle was a gift from my cousin, but I hadn’t been able to use it for months because of the mismatch. However, a recent beach vacation changed all that when I got a major tan. Yessss! Nothing goes to waste.

Pump

Quick Stats: 30 mL/1 US fl. oz.; SPF 25 PA+++; oil-free; made in France; active ingredients are Octinoxate 5.49% and Titanium Dioxide 2.37%; coverage is from light to medium—enough to hide redness, but not freckles and blemishes

Swatched with two other foundations I use, Petal (rightmost) is clearly the darkest and the warmest of the three, but it just gives off a tanned look once blended

Pros:

  • I’m in love with the packaging because it’s so handy-dandy. Plastic with a pump and a snug-fitting cap? I’m not afraid to travel with it. It has become a bag staple for when I need to touch up my T-zone area after several hours outside. (Don’t want any of that redness to peek out!)
  • SPF 25?! This is the most impressively sun-protective foundation I’ve tried to date. I’ve always tried using BB in the morning and saving the foundation for late afternoons and evenings so that I could get more SPF protection during the day, but this changes things.
  • I’ve gotten compliments on how natural it looks on my skin. As in seamless and natural, like I don’t have foundation on at all.
  • I can trust this not to break me out because it’s breathable. Even as I’m spreading the liquid makeup on my face, I can feel the lightness of the formula. Nothing gunky.

Cons:

  • I find the available shades to be wanting. The selection seems to be friendlier to warmer, tanner skintones. Makes me think Benefit is still created specifically for the Cali girl. :p
  • Gotta save up for this one as the price tag also warrants a WOW.

Left: Before; Right: After

Recommendation: Get this if you want a foundation that can effectively deal with redness but will still let your natural skin shine through, freckles and all.

3 thoughts on “Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow Brightening Makeup

Leave a Reply

