Kiehl’s Lip Balm #1

There’s this young adult book series I’m hooked on. It’s called Unwind, and I can’t wait for the next installment to come out in October 2014. Just thought of mentioning it as I’ve suddenly realized that I haven’t read a book since summer. If you want a thrilling page-turner that doesn’t involve zombies, werewolves, vampires, and aliens, then this one’s for you.

Okay, where was I? Let’s get back to beauty stuff! My happy, chap-free lips are rarin’ and ready for another review. I’m hopping over to the higher-end lip care products today with Kiehl’s Lip Balm #1 in Pear (PHP 400+).

Kiehl’s Lip Balm in Pear

Quick Specs: 15 ml; made in USA; comes in Original/Pear/Cranberry/Mint/Coconut/Mango/Vanilla

Ingredients: Petrolatum, Squalane, Lanolin, Wheat Germ Oil, Pentylene Glycol, Tocopherol, Caprylyl Glycol, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Allantoin, Benzyl Benzoate, Limonene, Benzyl Alcohol, Anise Alcohol, Linalool, Aloe Barbadensis Extract / Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Amyl Cinnamal, Fragrance

A dome-shaped applicator would’ve been nice

Pros:

  • It was the scents that primarily convinced me to give this a try. I found myself particularly drawn to Cranberry and Pear, but Pear won out because it struck me as a more distinct lip balm scent. The fruit scents leave more of a dried fruit impression, rather than icky artificially-flavored candy. It’s more adult that way.
  •  The simple, sturdy packaging makes it a grab-and-go option.
  • SPF 4 may not seem like much, but you gotta take what you can get from a lip balm. Some don’t offer SPF at all.
  • When used before bed, my lips don’t feel greasy or too thickly coated the next morning. Meaning, a good moisture barrier is created. That also makes it an ideal lip balm to use under lipstick.

Cons:

  • The applicator could have been more ergonomic. A rounded or slanted tip would feel much more comfortable on the lips.
  • Seeing as it’s primarily made up of petrolatum, I can’t help but think that this is actually a very expensive basic lip balm.

Verdict: Pricey, but it is a high-performance “adult” lip balm without the candy-scented frills. A no-nonsense lip balm user with a sizable budget would appreciate this.

*P.S. If you haven’t joined yet, don’t miss out on my giveaway!

7 thoughts on “Kiehl’s Lip Balm #1

    • Usually, when I get into a beauty brand, I start with purchasing their lip balm. It’s often the least expensive thing offered and the most basic beauty item. If they’re able to do that properly, I might want to try their other products. Haha. Funny logic of mine.

      For that price, I was hoping for a tinted lip balm.

    • I’ve been dispensing a little product on my finger and dabbing it on my lips instead of directly applying. I just have this feeling that the applicator shape would cause the lip balm to gunk up on the sides of the screw cap. Nakaka-OC. Haha.

Leave a Reply

