Vidal Sassoon Premium Color Care Shampoo and Conditioner

I only decided to write this review about halfway through my bottle of shampoo. That’s because I assumed it would be the same as any other shampoo-conditioner set, and yet it wasn’t. For one, I don’t have any bad things to say about Vidal Sassoon Premium Color Care Shampoo and Conditioner (PHP 199 each per 190ml) that I received from Sample Room. Second, I actually experienced the quality of the products. Read on to see what I mean…

Vidal Sassoon Premium Color Care

Quick Specs: made in Thailand; available in Premium Color Care and Premium Base Care variants; the complete line includes a treatment and a style activator; shampoo and conditioner is also available in 470ml containers for PHP 459

Top: Conditioner Ingredients; Bottom: Shampoo Ingredients

In keeping up with my varied posts idea, this is not going to be the usual pros and cons list. Instead, it’s going to be a list of five aspects I love about VS shampoo and conditioner ranked in order from most-liked aspect to least-liked (but still liked, all the same).

  1. Scent – The first thing I noticed was how nice the set smelled. In fact, I prefer the scent of Premium Color Care to Premium Base Care as I think Base Care has a stronger, more intense scent, while Color Care is more floral-fruity. Good thing my hair was recently colored. I definitely leaned toward Color Care.
  2. Packaging – See those flat lids? I love ’em! I’m the type to perpetually have shampoo and conditioner bottles turned upside down because I don’t have the patience to wait for the product to drip down when I’m halfway through the bottle. The simple shape of the packaging is such a big help, and it doesn’t tend to tip over.
  3. Moisture – Coming from shampoo and conditioner made from natural ingredients, I expected my hair to clash with the shampoo upon the reintroduction of regular shampoo ingredients. But no, My hair adjusted well. My scalp or strands didn’t feel any drier than when I was using the coconut-based shampoo and conditioner set.
  4. Price – I find the price reasonable. While it isn’t the cheapest grocery shampoo, the high quality makes the price a fair one.
  5. Lather – For a non-drying shampoo, I shouldn’t focus so much on a thick lather that can sometimes translate to harsher surfactants. No, lather isn’t such a big issue to me with regard to the overall performance of this line. But for the record, this doesn’t lather so much. I have shorter hair now, but I still think I use a lot to get the lather to cover everything.

Verdict: A step up from the run of the mill drugstore shampoos and conditioners, Vidal Sassoon’s joining the hair care party is a welcome (and still affordable) treat.

4 thoughts on “Vidal Sassoon Premium Color Care Shampoo and Conditioner

  1. I’ve tried this before kaso not so impressed i don’t know why. same effects din with your list with my hair. I still prefer tresemme shampoos and conditioner.

  2. Thanks for this (and the Human Heart Nature review)! I was going back and forth about getting this or a natural shampoo. Now I think I’ll just go for the latter first. Less expensive pa haha.

    • I love the feel of Human Heart Nature mint because the cooling sensation seems to last longer than other minty shampoos I’ve tried. Scent-wise, the mandarin smells nicer to me.

Leave a Reply

