Coconut Cupcakes Afternoon

It’s no big secret that I haven’t baked in a while. I have a barrage of neat excuses, but it all comes down to being preoccupied with other things. Thank goodness I was at a birthday party the other day that was hosted by a good friend. All the kitchen activity spurred me into breaking out the baking skills once more.

This recipe comes from Epicurious.com. It’s Coconut Cupcakes with White Chocolate Frosting!Β Click on the link to view the full recipe. Meanwhile, here are some photos and notes:

Requisite ingredients shot

I made a couple of changes to the recipe that mainly involves ingredient alternatives. For example, all the dried coconut (sweetened and unsweetened) that the recipe calls for was replaced by unsweetened desiccated coconut. That was the “challenge” ingredient I wanted to incorporate in whatever it was I ended up making. Also, at least the end product came out a little less sweet.

Wet ingredients, excluding egg whites

Another change I made was to replace the coconut cream with milk-rehydratedΒ gata (coconut milk/cream) powder. It’s what I had at home, and I put a lot of powder in to bring out that rich coconut flavor. Oh yeah, and I used vanilla bean paste instead of vanilla extract because of the pretty black dots. Haha.

Dry ingredients

Instead of adding the dried coconut at the end, I mixed it in with the dry ingredients.

A rather unglamorous photo of the beating process

A little note on frosting: I didn’t follow the frosting recipe, but choose to do a white chocolate glaze instead.

Voila!

6 thoughts on “Coconut Cupcakes Afternoon

  1. Waaah yum yum sis! I really want to experience to make my own cupcakes one day! ^_^ Thanks for sharing the recipe I might do this too when I already have the time πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

