Dory in Lemon Butter Sauce

We use a lot of cream dory fillet at home to do either Chinese-style steamed fish with soy sauce or Western-style parmesan-crusted and baked. Wanting to switch things up, I scoured the net for a different recipe and found this. Easy and tasty, methinks this fish recipe will become part of the regular menu at home. My grandma has tried the recipe herself, and it gets her seal of approval.

If the link isn’t redirecting properly, just copy/paste this: http://www.knowingfood.com/seafood/baked_dory_lemon_sauce.html

Sauce

Being the lazy-bum that I am, I just nuked the butter instead of using a saucepan. Then I added the lemon juice, the Worcestershire sauce, and a splash of white wine (my own take!) and gave it a quick stir. The lemon and the wine take away some of the dreaded dory lansa (fishy taste).

Salt and pepper-seasoned dory on a bed of thinly sliced red onions

I skipped the baby spinach because I didn’t have any in the fridge, and I replaced garlic salt with freshly chopped garlic. Dried basil was also substituted with Italian Seasoning.

Sauce goes on top

Baked for 20 minutes and…

Dinner is served

In the photo above, you can see that the fish is immersed in a lot of sauce. The liquid comes in part from the fish itself, so I suggest leaving it in a colander (in the fridge!) as it thaws. Give the ice enough time to drain, even though the fish isn’t dripping wet anymore.

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

