Laura Mercier Caviar Stick Eye Colour in Amethyst

I steer clear of shadow sticks or cream shadows, because they have this awful reputation of creasing every chance they get. Naturally, I was completely reluctant to try the Laura Mercier Caviar Stick in Amethyst (PHP 1,250). That is, until I read the raves and saw this youtube video:

Aaah, so it really doesn’t budge once set? I take such a claim seriously, since the same statement rang true for the Bobbi Brown gel liner. I am head-over-heels in love with said liner, so I wouldn’t mind developing that same fierce love affair with a shadow stick.

Laura Mercier Caviar Stick Eye Colour

Amethyst

Why did I pick Amethyst? Same as with the story of Nars Deep Throat blush, I was instantly attracted by this unique bronze color with a mauve tinge. When I was at the LM counter absentmindedly swatching stuff, I would reach for this first from the collection of Caviar Sticks. Amethyst is also the exact color that I had hoped Chanel Illusion d’Ombre in New Moon would look like. (I swatched New Moon and was disappointed with both the color and the longevity for the insane price, though I suspect that the “New Moon” the SA kept pushing wasn’t New Moon at all. It was way too gold when compared to the swatches on the internet. The tester’s label was covered with a bar code sticker, so there was no way of knowing for sure.)

Swatched: (L) In bright light, (R) in shade

Initially, I didn’t even understand why the shade was named as such. Isn’t amethyst a milky purple crystal?? But then I googled it and saw the brownish base of amethyst clusters. Okay, I get it now.

Ingredients (sorry, it doesn’t fit the site layout)

Quick Specs: 1.64 g / 0.05 oz; made in Italy

On the eyes

Slight creasing (look closely) after 9 hours

Pros:

  • It’s selling point has got to be its convenience. There are certainly days when I’m not in the mood to play with the colors of the rainbow, and this swoops in and saves me the trouble. Its compact and makes for a fantastic travel companion.
  • The color is buildable from a sheer wash to the full-on metallic smokey. Personally, I like to go somewhere in the middle. Pronounced color but not yet at smokey.
  • I appreciate that the shade can be seen at the bottom of the pen. The cap has a snug fit, so booboos can be avoided. Simple, elegant packaging design.
  • Shadow remains soft and creamy for a long time on the pen, if the testers are any indication. They’re probably the most abused and exposed by anyone who has ever pawed at them, but the shadow sticks still feel soft and blendable when swatched. That’s a good sign in my book.
  • Worn nine hours straight without primer, I got only slight creasing. Worn with primer but for a thicker, smokey look, still got slight creasing after six hours. That’s not so bad, seeing as I have realistic expectations when it comes to eye shadow sticks and I was in humid settings with little or no air conditioning. Plenty of cream/stick shadows I’ve used have creased all the way, creating a visible shadow-less streak that can be seen whenever I closed my eyes. This particular color’s creasing wasn’t that obvious on me. I had to look closely in the mirror to see it.

Cons:

  • Price hikes are a bitch. I heard this used to cost PHP 995. Isn’t that expensive enough?!

Verdict: I would’ve given it a 4.5/5, but the price hike is upsetting. I’ll stick with 4/5, because PHP 995 would’ve been understandable already. The formula is creamy and easy to blend. For that kind of light texture, the lasting power isn’t bad. Amethyst is a distinctive color and is the type of more unusual shade that wows me. It’s also the best-selling color in the line.

Tip: The SA instructed me to use a synthetic brush to blend it out, but I’ve just been using my ring finger. Either way is fine, but the synthetic brush is good for precision.

15 thoughts on “Laura Mercier Caviar Stick Eye Colour in Amethyst

  1. I want this. Oh gooood! Such a pretty color. I have not had any problems with cream shadows so far (thankfully – oh except for the Maybelline Color Tattoo in Painted Purple, the rest of my CTs tho are great). But I have not tried any high-end cream shadows so I want to give this one a try. Too bad about the price tho 😦

    • I don’t plan on getting other shadow stick colors at the moment, to be honest. It just so happens that I found Amethyst to be so unique that I wanted to get my hands on it. If only for that one pretty shade, go try it. Think I need a stronger primer though. I still want to get rid of creasing altogether.

      What is with the price hikes of Rustan’s products?! Even the Nars blush or MAC lippies, hindi ko man lang naabutan with the old price. Haaaay.

    • And to think that was what the Bobbi SAs were insisting I get. It’s more expensive than LM, and I was still afraid of shadow sticks at the time. I’m okay with the powder eyeshadow I got from them instead.

Leave a Reply

