Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 in Nude

There are days to shun foundation. Honestly. Ever since I “graduated” from BB creams to foundations upon the advice of a makeup artist I met at work, I haven’t given my skin much of a break. While the foundations I’ve been using are generally considered quality stuff, my skin occasionally suffers congestion after consecutive days of layering sunblock, primer, foundation, concealer, and powder. When I start to see the signs of tired skin, I do an in-home peel or exfoliate and I ease up on the layers. Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 in Nude (PHP 1,800 for 50 ml) is my BFF for those days.

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20

Quick Specs: available in 50 ml and 100 ml tubes; oil-free version is also available; made in the USA

Nozzle

Ingredients:  Octyl Methoxycinnamate and Menthyl Anthranilate. Other Ingredients: Purified Water, Cetearyl Alcohol (and) PEG-40 Castor Oil, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cyclomethicone, DEA-Ceryl Phosphate, Hexyl Laurate, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E Acetate), Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Allantoin, Carbomer, Methylparaben, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Sodium Ascorbate (Vitamin C), Propylparaben. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica.

Applied only on the left side of this photo: Face on the left side looks more dewy with slight muting of redness on cheeks/near the nose

Pros:

  • Let’s discuss the moisturizer aspect. Both texture and consistency are light, feeling as though I have next to nothing on my face. The formula is neither too thick nor runny, so spreading it over the skin is a cinch.
  • Despite feeling like there’s nothing on, there’s precious SPF 20 in there without a noticeable white cast.
  • The effect is more of a glow with the slightest color correction. Despite the boom of BBs, CCs, ZZs, and such, I think tinted moisturizer still has a place in this world. It’s the best for those with already perfect skin (and nothing to hide), but it’s also good for those who just want a relaxed face without feeling completely naked.
  • Even though it’s technically still moisturizer with a hint of color, the line has an extensive array of shades. It’s kind of like shopping for foundation as well, since I had to try two other shades until Nude blended perfectly on to my skin.
  • Packaging is sturdy and the nozzle dispenses just the right amount of moisturizer. I’ve taken this with me on an overnight bag, and the lid has stayed on snugly.

Cons:

  • It has that typical foundation smell that reminds me of water colors. Not so bad, but the oil-free variant smells worse. I daresay oil-free reminds me of glue.
  • PHP 1,800 will already get you a bottle of decent mid-range foundation, so you’re actually spending a lot of money for just a smidgen of color. When instant skin-improving effect is brought into the equation, you may end up thinking that a BB cream has more bang for buck.

Verdict: As a tinted moisturizer (with SPF 20!), I am all-praises for the light texture that I’m sure my congested skin is thankful for.

4 thoughts on “Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 in Nude

  1. I have wanted to give this a try since I first found out about it which was two or three years ago, but later on realized that I need a foundation with a full coverage instead of using this, then apply foundation on top. Mas lalong di makakahinga balat ko haha

Leave a Reply

