Fairydrops Candy Bar BB Cream in Light Ochre

Up until last month, I was positive I would never use a BB cream again because of color mismatches. It has always ended with me looking ultra-pale. The moral lesson of this tale? Never say never. And it’s all thanks to this…

IG Temptation

Yes, I was caught up in the pre-Christmas sale madness just like everyone else. I was actually in Beauty Bar hoping to get the Fairydrops Platinum mascara. I had thought about those lash-coaters since seeing the news of the sale on my IG feed, but it wasn’t as if I needed another mascara to add to my stockpile. Besides, lately I’ve been getting tired of fussing with removal of waterproof mascara that I’ve skipped applying it altogether. When the SA suggested I test Fairydrops Candy Bar BB Cream in Light Ochre (sale price: PHP 700+) instead, I was completely skeptical with an oh-well-I’m-already-here attitude.

Fairydrops Candy Bar BB Cream in Light Ochre

See what happened? It was a perfect match, when I did the jawline test. While the color looked seamless, I was still a little skeptical if it would still look as good in a different lighting condition. But because it was already near-closing, I took a chance. Lucky me, it seems my gamble paid off.

Seamless color that sufficiently covers redness and pimple scars (near the hairline and jaw)

Dewy finish

Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, glycerin, macadamia nut oil, methyl methacrylate crosspolymer, DPG, lauryl PEG-9 polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone, inulin stearate, dimethicone, BG, stearic acid, myristic acid, vaseline, squalane , jojoba seed oil, hydrolyzed collagen, royal jelly extract, tocopherol, sesquiisostearate, sorbitan, Na chloride, triethoxysilane caprylyl silane, methyl paraben, propyl paraben, iron oxide, titanium oxide, zinc oxide, mica, hydroxide Al, tin oxide

Nozzle, sponge applicator, and lid

Quick Specs: made in Japan; 35 g; water-resistant, according to the SA

Pros:

  • On me, the color matches better than any other foundation or BB I’ve tried before. Hallelujah!
  • I’d describe the coverage as medium-full, since it can disguise redness, dark circles, and lighten pimple scars. I can actually skip the undereye concealer sometimes, and it looks natural though not as well-rested as when there’s concealer.
  • Scent (or the lack thereof) is not a bother.
  • I did notice that this formula does a good job of sitting still on the face, even with just a light touch of setting powder. It “behaves” well. When I sweat, it doesn’t readily cling to tissues/towels/handkerchiefs provided that the dabbing is light. Impressive longevity.
  • Unlike foundation, it doesn’t dry me out at all. Sayonara, dry patches.
  • Narrow tube nozzle dispenses the right amount of product.
  • The finish is dewy. I still apply a light layer of setting powder over any BB, so dewy or matte doesn’t really make a huge difference for me.

Neutral:

  • Because of the coverage, the formula is understandably on the thick side. I experience a bit of pulling on the skin as I blend and spread, but it’s not the worst I’ve tried.

Cons: (mostly concerning the packaging)

I get that the packaging was designed to be as fuss-free as possible. You don’t even need to use your fingers to apply. Personally, I hate the packaging.

  • The sponge seems unhygienic, if you don’t take it out and wash it every so often. The sponge also soaks up a lot of product, so I don’t appreciate the wastage. Needless to say, the sponge applicator on my tube is still in pristine condition as I only intend to use it for emergency touch-ups.
  • The body of the tube, while sturdy, can be quite hard to squeeze.
  • The biggest point against the packaging? It’s a spill magnet! When the tube stands on its lid, the product naturally rushes to the bottom and tends to gush out non-stop. Because of the narrow nozzle, it’s damn near impossible to suck the spilled BB cream back in. (Believe me, I’ve tried!) Clean-up is also tricky, since the BB tends to stain the white plastic tube. The solution is to upturn the tube for a few minutes prior to opening, but then it defeats the purpose of designing it to stand on its lid.
  • No sunblock, but I use my Biore UV Aqua. At least, there’s no white cast.

Verdict: On color compatibility and hydration alone, FairyDrops Candy Bar BB is already a winner in my book. I’ll just overlook the annoying packaging. It’s sad to hear that FairyDrops is pulling out of the Philippines and this is a clearance sale already. (At least, according to a Beauty Bar SA.) Start hoarding yours. Last few pieces left.

7 thoughts on “Fairydrops Candy Bar BB Cream in Light Ochre

  1. Oh why are they pulling out?! 😦 That’s so sad. I haven’t tried this BB cream because of the steep price, and I have a lot of bases to use up really.

    • Exactly the same reason I never got the BB before the sale, even though it came highly recommended by a model friend for her days off. My mentality has always been: Why buy expensive BB when I can just get a drugstore (CoverGirl or ZA) foundation for less? But because I’m over the moon about the color, I think I’d repurchase this.

      I’ll ask the SA again the next time I drop by a Beauty Bar. I hope that was just a mistake. Sayang naman. 😦

      • The price is really steep for me plus I am not a super fan of BB creams. I also hate the color selection because most of the time they are too light or ashy on me.

Leave a Reply

