The Body Shop Shea Body Butter

I’m not a big fan of whitening products, and I’m not afraid to say it. Not that I have anything against lightening, but so seldom do they actually work visibly! To date, there are only two products I consider to possess lightening magic: Instant Glow Argan Oil and The Body Shop Shea Body Butter (PHP 675)

The Body Shop Shea Body Butter

Ingredients

Quick Specs: 200 ml / 6.75 oz / 192 g ; made in UK

Six Things About The Body Shop Shea Body Butter:

  1. I first tried this back in high school at the recommendation of my super kikay/beauty-junkie gay friend. Having heard my complaints about ashy elbows and ankles, she recommended this for the exact purpose and showed me her lightened elbows and ankles.
  2. You have to apply it religiously. Morning and night, if possible. Then supplement the routine with regular scrubbing.
  3. Out of all the body butter scents from The Body Shop, it’s Shea Butter and Olive Oil that smell the cleanest to me. The scent of this Shea Body Butter is slightly powdery. It’s so subtle that you could easily layer your usual fragrance over it without coming off as overpowering. Personally, I already associate the scent of Shea Body Butter with going to bed as I like to use this before bedtime.
  4. The consistency is different from most of the other TBS Body Butters. While the others are thick and creamy, Shea Body Butter has a more balm-like consistency. It comes away in thin layers on the fingers, so you’ll be using less and it will feel less sticky. That is, unless you like to coat yourself thickly.
  5. Leaves skin supple and lightens subtly and gradually. I’ve also been applying this to my other dry patches, and it seems to be working. *Note: This isn’t specifically a lightening product, but that seems to be the pleasant side effect on me. It’s still mainly for hydration.*
  6. Hoard when you can! It seems to me that that was exactly what happened during the post-holiday sale of The Body Shop. I went to four branches, and the Shea Butter and Olive Oil variants were out of stock.

Let me know… What’s your favorite body butter from The Body Shop? I might want to try another variant next time, and I’m dying to know what else is good. Is the oil spray better than the lotions and butters?

12 thoughts on “The Body Shop Shea Body Butter

  1. […] The Body Shop Shea Body Butter – I found four other tubs of various Body Shop Body Butters in my vanity, and that’s just how I like it. Especially this time of year, my skin does experience severe bouts of dryness. To have a body butter on hand at all times helps prevent itchy, scaly skin. […]

  2. I haven’t tried the body butters yet though I bought two! hehe. The Shea butter is my fave scent. I fell in love with the Body Shower Gel and Lotion. I got the apple and vanilla last holiday. The apple scent smells nice too.

    • Apple smells so juicy, but I got Cranberry Shimmer Lotion instead. Hmm… Dapat pala I did the buy-1-take-1 apple and cranberry. I just did both in cranberry, because natuwa ako sa scent. It was so holiday-y.

  3. I tried those Body Butters last year, they were luscious! I picked Vineyard Peach though, a strong fruity scent that I love. I didn’t notice any whitening effect though, but it was an absolute skin saver in the arctic temperature of the call center. I’d love to try the Olive Oil one though, sounds luxurious!

    • I think it’s just the shea that specifically has the side effect of subtly lightening. At least, in my experience. I wanted to try the argan oil one, but I didn’t like the scent. It reminded me of old-school scented stationery.

  4. I’ve had lots of favorite body butters from TBS. Usually if mabango yung bago kong tinry, favorite ko na agad. Hahaha! But the scent I’m attracted to the most is Honeymania. Super bango and pleasant ng floral scent, I don’t think anyone could not like it. 🙂

    • Yes, that one! If I didn’t get this, I would’ve gotten that. Ang bango nga. Was that line limited edition? I hope not. I’d grab that on the next sale, if meron pa.

Leave a Reply

