Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm in Mega Melon

Lipstick is a frenemy sometimes: We can’t get enough of that pure pigmented color, but we cannot stand the dryness. If a super-matte lipstick with “superior moisturization” could be invented, we’d be all set. Until then, our options for high-moisturizing color are tinted lip balms, colored lip butters, and Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm (PHP 900+)

Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm in Mega Melon

Mine came from a GWP set given to me by my aunt, so what I got was the packaging with the transparent cap. The full-sized one looks like this:

Full-sized Chubby Stick

Quick Specs: 0.1 oz ; made in USA; allergy-tested and fragrance-free

Mega Melon

Pros:

  • If you look at it as a tinted lip balm, you’d be impressed with the amount of color it gives off. It belongs to the category of either tinted lip balm or sheer lipstick.
  • I see this as a grown up lip balm, because of the way it’s packaged and the available variants. First, the twist-up bottom is typical of old-school lip balm. Second, even the available colors are reminiscent of classic lip balm flavors. (Grape, Strawberry, Orange, etc.)
  • The crayon-shape stick makes for easy application from the lip line going in.
  • Mega Melon is a coral with fine gold shimmer that comes on as coral pink with one swipe on naturally pigmented lips and goes back to coral after two swipes.
  • Feels exactly like a lip balm, and the moisture stays on for hours. It stays on until I eat.
  • Ideal for lip balm junkies and ladies who hate that coated + dry feeling of lipstick.

Cons:

  • If you look at it as a tinted lip balm, well, that’s an expensive tinted lip balm.

Verdict:  It all comes down to if I would purchase the full-sized version. Personally, I’d say no, since I would rather spend that amount on a highly-pigmented lipstick. (This is coming from someone who’s used to the sensation of lipstick, occasional dryness and all.) For those who are more comfortable with lip balms, this is made for you.

14 thoughts on “Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm in Mega Melon

  1. I think Clinique is so great with “safe” colors (same as Elizabeth Arden and Lancome). I always recommend the Chubby Sticks Intense for those who wanna start wearing color on their lips 🙂

    • Hmm… Come to think of it, you’re right. They are good at safe colors. I feel like most luxury brands are very “classic” in their color selections, with the exception of Nars and a few others. Tama si Shari (regarding what she said about Chanel lipsticks, but I think applies to lots of other luxury brands): Buy for the formula you can’t get anywhere else, because kung colors lang medyo mabilis naman makahanap ng dupe.

  2. I love the moisturization this gives me. I’d rather get the intense line if I want more color. I only got mine as a gift, but won’t shell out 900+ for any balm! lols

    • Exactly. I’m kuripot with tinted balms. My mentally is usually, “Why don’t you get a sheer lipstick instead?” Lots of sheer lippie formulations are significantly hydrating. I’m just a Revlon Lip Butter girl through and through. 🙂

  3. What a cute shade! 😀 I love lipsticks but I can’t stand the drying feel sometimes, so I love tinted balms. At least sure ako di iitim lips ko kasi I feel that they’re more gentle. This one’s quite pricey a, comparable with Pixi Tinted Brilliance Balms yung price range.

    • At first, everyone had Lancome Juicy Tubes. Then everyone had Clinique Chubby Sticks. I did not jump on the bandwagon of either trend because I always just convinced myself that I could get lipstick for that price. :))

Leave a Reply

