FOTD: My Estee Lauder Makeover Experience

How do you feel about free makeovers and workshops? I’ve gone to quite a few in 2014, when I started to realize they exist. (Is it just me, or were the workshops and events before only exclusive to loyal clients? I feel like the brands have opened these activities to the public very recently.) It’s the easiest way to learn new makeup tricks (live!) and to get high end products at a discount, not to mention getting to experience firsthand what the brand has to offer. My latest sojourn was to the Estee Lauder counter for a quick makeover:

3-Minute Beauty Workshop

Since I went early, there weren’t that many people shopping. We got to do a full makeover past the three minute mark. This is what I looked like after:

My Estee Lauder Look

Nice, right? Onto the products used… Since my skin is currently at its most problematic—the greasy T-zone and parched cheeks of combination skin worsened by cool, “wintry” air—we started with Double Wear All Day Glow BB to hydrate and prime my skin. For foundation, we used Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Ivory Nude, set with a powder I don’t remember the name of. (Either Double Wear or Lucidity powder.) While I liked how the Double Wear liquid foundation’s color matched my skin, I didn’t like that the bottle had a screw cap lid. Pump, please! It seems like an accident waiting to happen in my clumsy hands.

Bases and Brows

For cheeks, we used Pure Color Blush in Witty Peach that I liked for three reasons: One, it’s a three-toned, gradient-style blush that can be used to start with a blush base, add a pop of color to the cheeks, and highlight cheekbones/temples/brow bones. Two, Witty Peach is a lovely natural peachy-pink that is everyday chic. Three, it lasted all eight hours of wear with slight fading. At hour six, I started to notice the fade, but it still looked like I had a natural flush going.

To define my eyes, the SA used the lighter colors of the new Pure Color Envy Sculpting EyeShadow 5-Color Palette in Fierce Safari to create a daytime look. My brows, admittedly in need of a wax session took some time to do, and I felt like it turned out a little darker than I would’ve wanted. However, I am happy to announce that I had no trouble with the longevity of Double Wear Stay-in-Place Brow Lift Duo. Both my upper lashline and lower waterline were defined with Automatic Eye Pencil Duo in Jet Black. Even without looking at the shade, I was impressed with how jet black it did indeed look. I just didn’t like that the liner on my waterline completely vanished after one hour.

Color, Definition, and Fragrance

We finished with Pure Color Envy Shine Lipstick in Pink Dragon, and there may have been a spritz or two of Estee Lauder’s Pleasures to complete the experience. I walked away with a deluxe sample as promised:

Deluxe Sample of Estee Lauder Perfectionist [CP+R] Wrinkle Lifting/Firming Serum

So now let’s get down to My Top 3 Picks. After over eight hours of wear, the products that stood out the most for longevity were Pure Color Blush, Pure Color Envy Sculpting EyeShadow 5-Color Palette, and Double Wear Stay-in-Place Brow Lift Duo. The brow pen looked pristine until I removed it. The shadow lasted 6 hours with minimal creasing, but creased fully by the 8th hour. The blush looked its finest until the 6th hour, but faded subtly on the 8th. *Note: I didn’t purchase anything as I have a strict 5-month rule in place. I guess we’ll see after five months?*

Were you able to experience an Estee Lauder workshop or makeover? What are your top picks from the brand? Tell me all about it. 🙂

2 thoughts on “FOTD: My Estee Lauder Makeover Experience

  1. How do you get news about these workshops? My only source of info is Rustans Beauty Source instagram account. I’d love to go to these workshops more.

Leave a Reply

