2015 Dry Skin Regimen

Is it just me, or has the weather been… funky? The Philippines, perpetually delayed as usual, seems to be enveloped in chilly, dry December winds that become particularly aggressive at night. Normally, I’d be jumping for joy, if only it didn’t wreak so much havoc on my skin.

On a good day, my combination skin can only be described as fickle. There are some days that call for primer, while other days require intense moisture. It’s been the latter for me since January, only intensify that to a hellish disaster. My T-zone has been greasing up like crazy, while my cheeks peel at the slightest “provocation” with matching breakout. I think the moisture barrier on my cheeks have been depleted to the point that it gets easily irritated, so I’ve had to do a 180 on my usual skincare. It’s taken the Korean route of layering, and I’d like to share what I’ve been surviving on lately:

Skincare:

Serum, Sleep Mask, and First Essence

I start with Tony Moly Intense Care Galactomyces First Essence 94.5%. Don’t get me started on what’s supposed to be the order of these products as it utterly confounds me. All I know is that this first essence (or toner?) leaves skin moist and slightly sticky in the summer, but gets absorbed quickly in dry weather. After a minute, I slather on Philosophy Keep The Peace serum, a mildly-scented mixture of oils that my skin just drinks up. I usually put 4-5 drops for the entire face, but now I do it by the dropper-ful. Then I finish up with this ancient tube of The Face Shop Marine Stem Cell Cell Revive Sleeping Mask I found in my drawer. I used to apply once a week, but now I’m going at a rate of twice per day. Uh-huh, the dry air is that bad. I even have to slather on body lotion twice in the evening, after my bath and before bed.

Makeup:

BB Cream and Tinted Moisturizer

If deep moisturizing is the goal of skincare, then makeup has to follow suit. I layer on Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer in Nude and Fairy Drops BB Cream in Light Ochre instead of the usual primer-foundation combo. I’ve also been skipping the powder, save for setting concealer on my lids and undereye area. My Bobbi Brown Pot Rouge in Pale Pink is getting the most use out of all my blushes because of the creamy formula.

~~~

Is the unusually dry weather taking its toll on your skin? How do you manage?

4 thoughts on “2015 Dry Skin Regimen

  1. The products you use are interesting. I haven’t tried any of them but I would love to try the serum from Philosophy as well as the Fairy Drops BB. Btw, my sister really, REALLY loves that Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer.

Leave a Reply

