Etude House Rosy Tint Lips in #8

I’m getting into matte lipsticks in a serious way. This is coming from the girl who has always been a huge fan of anything glossy, so you can see I’m making an earnest effort to broaden my beauty horizons. Speaking of expanding, we don’t see nearly enough matte anything from Korean brands, so I jumped at the chance to try a matte lip cream like Etude House Rosy Tint Lips shade 8ย (PHP 478).

Etude House Rosy Tint Lips

Lip brush friendly: The applicator can be unscrewed for easier access of the contents

Sponge-tip applicator

Quick Specs: 7 g ; made in Korea

Swatched

Pros:

  • I love the colors in this particular line. Aside from offering mattes, the rich reds and pinks look so luxurious. #8 is a rich reddish magenta that looks bold but girly. I’ve been on the lookout for this exact color for ages, so I was relieved to find it.
  • The creamy lip color has a soft, velvety feel on lips.
  • It has buildable color that takes 2-3 layers to get opaque.
  • Leaves a rosy stain on the pucker.
  • I personally love the rose scent. (My two favorite lipsticks scents are rose and vanilla.) Though strong at first, the scent doesn’t linger for long.
  • Doesn’t taste like much, so it’s less bothersome when you accidentally get a lick.

Cons:

  • I don’t think the packaging offers the most precise application, especially the domed sponge tip. How do you not muck up the edges? I use a lipliner and lip brush to get the most accuracy. For retouches on the inner parts of the lips, the sponge tip will do. For an ombre/gradient lip as advertised by Etude House for this lip color line, the sponge tip will suffice. Not the most sanitary, though.
  • After two hours of wear without food and drink, my lips start to feel “grubby” from the dryness. It offers no moisture, so starting out with dry lips means getting that grubby feeling before the two hours of wear. Also, the dryness seems to emphasize lines on the lip.

Verdict:ย I love the color and feel, because who doesn’t want a velvety matte? Prepping with hydrated lips is absolutely necessary as the formula can be a bit drying.

18 thoughts on “Etude House Rosy Tint Lips in #8

  1. The sponge tip is very similar to the Too Faced Melted which I’m not sure I’m a fan of! Like you, I don’t find it the most sanitary! But the color is so gorgeous, though. Enough to overlook the cons! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • As much as possible, I avoid using the applicator. It’s not so bad, but it’s icky when you think of it. (That is, unless you’re the type to take the time to wash the applicator.) I haven’t used it to the point that the sponge-tip has been thoroughly saturated with dried lip cream, so I haven’t gotten to the rough part yet. :p

  2. I think they used a sponge tip applicator so you can do the korean ombre lips ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I’m not a fan of that look because it makes my lips appear thinner.

    I wonder if this is the same formula as the Etude House Lip Fit. Also matte and velvety

    • Lips Fit dries matte pala! I never gave it much thought, because it looked so wet from the applicator. I though it was glossy, so I rubbed it out and moved on. Didn’t give it long enough to dry. :))

  3. Beautiful look! I think this will dry on me as well! I also dislike the packaging but I love the shade on you! I think I don’t have this kind of color yet. Nice find! And oh, your blush looks so natural! What is it?

    • Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚ If Etude House comes up with a moisturizing matte (or even semi-matte, like Happy Skin) lipstick version of this exact color, I’d be in line to try it! BTW, I’m wearing Bobbi Brown Pot Rouge in Pale Pink. I’ve been using it almost exclusively because of my dry-weather skin. Powders and powder blushes seem to make it worse, so I’ve put those away at the moment. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Wow sorry! Half my comment went missing there. o_o What I meant to say was:
      I’ve always wanted to pick up some of these but I always ended up passing it up so I regret it! ><

      • I have a few items on my Korean cosmetic list that I ended up not getting and seriously regretting not doing so. It doesn’t help that their lines are always limited edition. They turn over so fast! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

        • Aw no! That sucks! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hopefully you can find them online and they’re not insanely priced! They really do though, there are constantly new lines being released!

Leave a Reply

