Workshop: Inglot x Mikki Galang part 2

Here’s part two of the Inglot x Mikki Galang workshop I attended. If you missed part one, just click HERE to catch yourself up. Now, let’s continue:

Inglot’s Pauline Lim makes further introductions

6. Glitters are the new window to the soul.

I zoomed all the way in, hoping to capture a bit of the sparkle

When Mikki brought out the glitter, I literally gasped. I love glitter/shimmer, as I’ve mentioned before, but I’ve always been afraid of looking like a showgirl or a disco ball. Luckily, Inglot AMC Pure Pigment Shadows are finely ground for a glitter but still chunky enough that it doesn’t become pearl shimmer. It’s pricey at PHP 800+, but it’s as far from bookstore glitter as it gets.

Inglot Color Pigment

I was sorely tempted to grab one, but I like to change up my shadows constantly. Didn’t want to get one and not be able to use it, if I couldn’t commit to the color long enough.

7. Coral or peach blush is the safest, most versatile choice.

Aaaaand that’s probably the reason behind Nars Orgasm’s enduring popularity: It’s peachy-pink! A peach or coral blush goes with most eye shadow and lipstick colors, as well as most skin tones. My own Nars Deep Throat, Orgasm’s shy but naughtily-named sister, has gotten endless use since I’ve received it. Now back to Inglot, who has a pleasant selection of peaches and corals to choose from. Mikki presented three lovely colors in light pink, light peach, and a medium coral, but I wasn’t able to take a photo. 😦

8. All bets are off when it comes to lining the waterline.

Mikki says that finding the perfect eyeliner that’ll stay on your waterline is a trial-and-error process. It doesn’t even work the same for everyone. Some find kohl liners effective, while most find that the softness of it tends to cause the pigment to “melt” or “bleed”. Recommendations are helpful, but nothing beats the actual experience.

9. Lift droopy-looking eyes with upward strokes.

Onwards and upwards

There are times when sleepy eyes are sexy, but they could just as easily make you look perpetually exhausted. Apply and blend eye shadow in an upward motion to give the lids an instant lift. Line the upper lid with an upward stroke towards the end to help that eye shadow trick along. Topping it off with mascara enhances the handiwork with the eyeliner.

10. Gray is a tricky color to pull-off.

If you have any reservations when it comes to using gray shadow, you’re not the only one uncomfortable with those fifty shades. According to Mikki, black is more versatile for contouring, while white should be left to highlight the inner corners of the eyes. Gray is the type of in-the-middle color that could easily seem like a black-eye.

Now for the Bonus Round, I’d like to present my little Inglot wishlist from their massive collection.

Freedom System Rainbow Eye Shadow in 106 and 119 — Since 2015 is looking to be a bold lip kind of year, I need my shadows neutral. Upon swatching the mattes, I immediately liked the texture and pigmentation: Satisfyingly pigmented and buildable. That and their Freedom System Rainbow shadows in a shimmery finish did not pass my swatch test: Not as smooth and not as pigmented, sadly. Did I mention I could skip the case and just tote these super handy pans around in their simple plastic containers? (Yes, this is me admitting I’m stingy.)

Duraline — Intensifies pigmentation and is said to revive a dried-up gel liner, imagine Duraline creating that perfectly foiled metallic shadow. I want in on that!

Now for some more photos…

With Mikki

With Juvy of PlumpCheeks.com (I remember just staring at her eye shadow handiwork–metallic, so pretty)

Thanks to Mikki Galang for conducting the highly informative and occasionally humorous workshop and Inglot Philippines for creating the event. ❤

8 thoughts on “Workshop: Inglot x Mikki Galang part 2

  1. Wahh! *shy ako* Hehe. I am really shy to meet people in person, but I am really happy to finally meet you! I love your red lipstick too! Suits you well! Mag-eyeshadow ka na rin ulit next time. See you again! 🙂

  2. Wow, your experience at the workshop looks amazing! 😀 I so wish I could’ve seen the sparkle in person, I love glitter too! I love NARS Deep Throat, it’s such a gorgeous shade but has the most awkward name ever LOL. And I agree with the trickiness of using grey eyeshadows, I’m always nervous to use them myself but mainly because I feel it always clashes with my complexion!

    • I was half-joking with friends that maybe we could split the glitter pot three ways with an ultra-sensitive weighing scale. At least, we would’ve been able to pick out more than one color. :)) I’m forever attached to purple or brown smokey eyes. The only gray that looks okay on me is gunmetal, but I haven’t tried it in such a long time that I’d have to re-learn how to use it.

Leave a Reply

