Happy Skin Don’t Get Mad Get Even Hydrating Liquid Foundation

I’ve been on a rampage for most of 2014 and the beginning of 2015, looking for my Holy Grail foundation, but I ended up fostering a relationship with BB cream instead. It isn’t even the formula I’m worried about so much as the color compatibility. In my defense, I only just learned that I have yellow undertones after having been in denial and thinking I was pink-toned for years. (As it turns out, even my mom doesn’t buy the right undertone of face base.) I haven’t given up the search yet. Here is another candidate for the foundation search, Happy Skin Don’t Get Mad Get Even Hydrating Liquid Foundation in 01 Soft Beige (PHP 999 regular price; received as part of a gift bag)

Ingredients

Quick Specs: 30 ml ; made in Japan; SPF 20 PA++

Trying on 01 Soft Beige

Six Things About Don’t Get Mad Get Even:

  1. Sturdy, hygienic packaging. There’s a clear plastic cover on the lid that might crack if you drop it, but the inside of the lid itself is made of a more durable type of plastic. The nozzle dispenses just the right amount of product and maintains cleanliness/hygiene.
  2. Light coverage. It took me two layers to sufficiently cover up my skin’s redness. It does not, however, cover up blemishes well. True to its name, this foundation is mostly for getting even, skin tone-wise.
  3. Having combination skin, most foundations severely aggravate dry spots on my cheeks. It’s another reason why I warmed up to BB Creams on the latter part of 2014. I still got dry patches, though proper prep work with moisturizer and non-drying primer reduced the effect.
  4. SPF 20 PA++, but it doesn’t leave a white cast on my skin. Then again, the shade isn’t the most compatible with me. (See #5)
  5. Happy Skin, in true by-Pinays-for-Pinays fashion, caters to the morena-skinned (tanner) ladies. Their foundation colors are primarily beige, so even this lightest one, 01 Soft Beige, comes across as warm and orange-y on my yellow undertone. I like the formula, so I’m hoping they develop more shades to suit yellow- and pink-toned users.
  6. Don’t be fooled by its sheer coverage. Don’t Get Mad Get Even lasts all day, even through sweating. Because it is darker on me, I’d notice immediately if the sweat has caused the color to transfer. I get home, and the color is still even. The only place I experience color fade is on my nose. To be fair, that oily area is always the first place where foundation disappears on me. I tend to pat my nose a lot.

Verdict: I’m impressed by the quality of this foundation as it easily levels with foreign brands I have tried. An everyday look doesn’t always require heavy, caked makeup, so there’s a market for a good-quality sheer foundation that’s half the price of high-end brands.

*Though I received this product free-of-charge from an event, all opinions on this review are my own.

13 thoughts on “Happy Skin Don’t Get Mad Get Even Hydrating Liquid Foundation

  1. I always dust on a paler powder if I find the foundation I’m wearing is a bit too dark. Argh, I really need to go by the Philippines just to buy a bunch of these.

  2. I have this too, and I like how lightweight it is but still good coverage. I also like the staying power. I agree with your review 100%! 🙂 Lucky that you got it for free! ❤

  3. Where do I get this? Haha! I’m currently using a bb cream from In2it, and by far, it’s the best one that I got. It’s not as polished as this one tho!

    • Beauty Bar and Plains & Prints usually stocks this. You can also try Rustan’s Shangri-la. 🙂 I remember swatching In2It BB while I was on the lookout for a new BB Cream. I remember liking the formula, but I think I wasn’t able to find a better color match from them. Hmm… I should check it out again.

  4. You’re in the homeland?! I just saw “morena” and how hot it is. Lol and I didn’t know the brand’s name was happy skin so I thought it was your title that you made up.

Leave a Reply

