Project Vanity’s 7th Anniversary

I distinctly remember the time when I started to read beauty blogs regularly. In need of some information on products I was interested in buying, I found relevant reviews on two local sites that got me hooked on their pretty and witty content. The first is Liz Lanuzo’s Project Vanity, while the second is Martha Sta. Barbara’s The Beauty Junkee. Fast forward to a couple of years later, and I am still an avid fan of both blogs. You can imagine my glee when I was picked as one of the guests to attend Project Vanity’s 7th Anniversary at Beauty Bar, Central Square.

While I usually cover events through tips I’ve picked up, this one was different. I was going fan-girly at personally meeting all the Pinay beauty bloggers whose blogs I’ve been following for so long, so excuse me for turning this post into a photo album of sorts. :))

Tellie looks every bit the Koreanovela star

With Kaycee (who gave foundation recommendations) and Donnarence (we talked about her wedding planning)

With the lovely Martha

With Shari (who looks good in anything) and Mariana–just as I was getting bummed that I wasn’t able to snap a pic with Mariana, I find her here :))

With Rissa Mananquil-Trillo who hasn’t aged a bit since I last saw her at an event a decade ago

With the celebrant, Liz Lanuzo

We were treated to a cocktail party, a quick workshop on a summer look, inspiring talks from three successful businesswomen (just in time for International Women’s Day), and a lipsync showdown for the ages.

Rissa Mananquil-Trillo of Happy Skin talked about striving on making business a success, not just locally, but globally

Cheryl Tan-Chua of Beauty Box Corp. discussed time management

May Samson of Burt’s Bees shared tips on climbing the corporate ladder

Liz and Nikki doing their lipsync rendition of Bonnie Tyler’s Total Eclipse of the Heart

I had a blast chatting with the bloggers and other guests. Instead of sharing tips this time, I’ll just say that the beauty blogging community is supportive, warm, and welcoming. Thanks, Liz, for creating the opportunity to celebrate with you and have girl time in the process! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Project Vanity’s 7th Anniversary

  1. Yey! I still feel kilig every time I see the bloggers who inspired me with blogging. So happy to meet you there too! Medyo naconfuse pako nung una sabi mo Marielle since ang tumatak talagang name mo to me is Matromao hihi hoping to see you again soon!

    • I’ve been using that handle kasi since high school, so I ended up still using it when making comments on blogs. Sorry for the confusion. Likewise glad to finally meet you. :))

  2. Color me envious! I may never be part of the beauty scene now that I’ve fallen in love with yarn, haha. You guys look like you’re having so much fun!

  3. Iba talaga ang warmth at bait ng beauty bloggers. I’m often too shy to assume that I can just talk to someone but the biggest bloggers are in fact the warmest ones. They’ll be the ones to approach you and get you to loosen up. Finally we meet! Hope to see you in more events, and ituloy natin yung date natin some other time 🙂

    • Ditto. I was shying away at first, but then I said sayang naman if I didn’t get to personally meet you all. I was surprised that Liz actually remembered me attending her Burt’s Bees workshop a year ago. :p

Leave a Reply

