Eye of Horus Scarab Sapphire Goddess Pencil

While I’m starting to seriously enjoy experimenting with bolder lipstick colors, pop eyeliner still hasn’t quite caught up to me yet. Sure, I’ll try the occasional red and electric blue, but my absolute favorite is still black-brown. At the moment, the farthest I’ll go for everyday eyeliner is metallic. The gods must be listening, because Eye of Horus Scarab Sapphire Goddess Pencil fell into my lap! (Technically, it was shipped to me by Sabs of The Makeup Maven, because I won a leg of her blog’s Christmas raffle. Thanks again, Sabs!)

Eye of Horus Goddess Pencil in Scarab Sapphire

Scarab Sapphire

Smudger

Quick Specs: 1.2 g / 0.042 oz ; made in Taiwan

Ingredients

An Australian brand, Eye of Horus is a company that specializes in eye makeup, specifically eyeliners, brow pencils, mascara, and eye makeup tools. Their products are available for purchase in the Philippines through Glamourbox and Pure Beauty. The product I’m reviewing today, Scarab Sapphire Goddess Pencil, is a soft eyeliner that can double as an eye shadow.

Five Things About Scarab Sapphire Goddess Pencil:

  • The packaging is practical as it is pretty. Black and gold is a classy color scheme. Then there’s the dual-ended tips, one for the liner and another for a sponge-tip smudger. With differently colored lids, it won’t be difficult to figure out which end is which, though the two lids can’t be interchanged. (The black one has a smaller circumference.)
  • Scarab Sapphire is a metallic navy blue with white shimmer pigments. It’s not so hard to pull off, since the blue is so dark that it’s almost blue-black.
  • It’s one of the softer pencils I’ve tried, so it doesn’t feel like the lids are getting scraped while lining. As for using it as an eye shadow with the smudger, I’ll have to beg off. Smudging seems to kill the metallic factor that makes it so distinct to begin with.
  • As a liner, it lasts the whole day as long as you set it properly. To do that, you have to apply one layer of the liner, set that with a little face powder, then add another layer over it. You’d be surprised how that little move makes a huge difference in the longevity of a liner. I know this is supposed to be waterproof and smudgeproof, but my monstrously oily lids smudge the crap out of this towards the end of the day without that makeup hack.
  • This is the type of eye liner that requires sharpening. Eye of Horus also offers a covered sharpener in its list of products via Glamourbox for PHP 295.

Eye of Horus Sharpener

Verdict: Eye of Horus specializes in metallic liners, so now I know where to get my fix. Their variety of colors allows for anything from a youthful pop to a more sophisticated definition. If you’re so over jet black, play around with the Goddess Pencils.

 

*I received the product free of charge, but the opinions I share here are purely my own.

11 thoughts on “Eye of Horus Scarab Sapphire Goddess Pencil

  1. I think I like Teal Malachite better, but this is more everyday I suppose. I had a hard time smudging my black one because it just plain hurt to do so. I don’t know if the liner already set or my smudger needs some cleaning, but yes. Hell!

  2. I should have gotten the Eye of Horus-exclusive Glamourbox while it was still available. 😦 Anyway, this liner is so pretty. I have to check these goddess pencils out next. And hey, thanks for the eyeliner hack, will definitely try it!

    • I don’t use primer on my lids. Maybe that’ll achieve the same longevity with liner as it does shadow? But even without, setting with powder is a great alternative. I even do it when I use Bobbi Brown Long Wear Gel Liner. The only difference is that I don’t re-apply the liner anymore afterwards. It’s plain brown-black, so it doesn’t lose much impact when set, unlike with shimmer/metallic liners.

Leave a Reply

