Clinique Clarifying Lotion 2

I’m still vacation hung-over, but it’s now business as usual. How did you guys spend the Easter holidays? 🙂 I’m happy to report that I was able to hit the beach over the break, so my once-a-year beach quota has been filled. There may have been tanning and a little sunburn, but I’ll get into that at a later post. For today, I want to share a long-overdue review of my favorite toner, Clinique Clarifying Lotion 2.

Clinique Clarifying Lotion 2

Quick Specs: available in travel size, 6.7 fl oz (200 ml) and 13.5 fl oz (400 ml) bottles ; made in USA

Ingredients

Clinique is actually my mom’s favorite brand of high-end skincare. Like a lot of first beauty discoveries, she introduced this to me. Now, I don’t know why she exclusively gets Clarifying Lotion 2 as she seems more of a Type 1 (Very Dry/Dry) to me, but my Dry Combination skin is fortunately compatible with Type 2. In fact, I have a greasy T-zone coupled with Sahara-dry cheeks. Sounds like the embodiment of Dry Combination, right?

Five Things About Clinique Clarifying Lotion 2:

  1. I’ve been using this toner occasionally since my oily high school days, and a bottle lasts me forever. During that dark, oily period in my life, I would use the toner all over. These days, my mellowed skin only requires a small amount on the T-zone, so I can stretch the use of a single bottle even more. Only occasional application because…
  2. …of the potent formula that helps speed up the drying of small zits. This has done a good job on my forehead and chin, in particular. I can’t put any on my cheeks, since they’ll start peeling at the slightest dryness. I feel like Clarifying Lotion 2 is more of an occasional deep cleanse toner rather than a twice-daily kind of thing, especially since I already suffer dry patches. (IMHO, too often and it feels like I’m singeing my skin off.) By the way, my mom also uses this only on occasion as well.
  3. The combination of alcohol and menthol used to get me squinting as I applied on the nose and temples, but I’m used to it now. Then there’s the smell of witch hazel that shows up towards the end, and I’m not such a huge fan of witch hazel. It’s tolerable, though.
  4. The price is steep for a toner, but at least there’s the travel-size version (PHP 500+, I think) for a smaller, more affordable dose.
  5. If you’re wondering whether or not a dupe of this exists, then I’ll ask you to try out Dickinson’s Witch Hazel Toner and be the judge of that. It seems to be the less alcohol-strong version that’s much heavier on the witch hazel scent, but it’s also significantly cheaper.

 

Verdict: As far as toners go, Clinique Clarifying Lotion 2 is my single most purchased and re-purchased that I’ve used for close to a decade. If you have the budget and can’t stand the stronger witch hazel smell on the budget-friendly alternative, Dickinson’s, then go for Clinique.

3 thoughts on “Clinique Clarifying Lotion 2

Leave a Reply

