Bobbi Brown High Shimmer Lip Gloss in Bellini

You won’t see that many lip gloss reviews on this blog. At least, not until this year. I fell in and out of love with gloss, but now I’m falling back in. The time is right and I’ve received a lot of gloss as gifts, so they’ve piqued my interest once more. (Sheer gloss is a safe gift option, I get it.) More so, since the formulas are extremely different from what I’ve tried in the past. A sample size ofย Bobbi Brown High Shimmer Lip Gloss in Bellini was the first to get me believing in glosses once more.

Bobbi Brown Bellini High Shimmer Lip Gloss

Standard Doe-foot Applicator

Pros:

  • Sleek packaging. I’ve always loved Bobbi Brown’s minimalist, pro-MUA-esque packaging. It’ll never go out of style.
  • A pleasant surprise came in the form of the minty feel on my lips. I love mint on lip balms and glosses! Then I got the light, minty scent of the gloss. Refreshing and clean.
  • The Bobbi Brown website describes this as “a nude pink with pearl”. I’ll say it’s a girly-girl peachy-pink with pink-white shimmer. Though it doesn’t give off much pigment, the combination of a healthy amount of shimmer and juicy-looking gloss give lips an instant plumping glow.
  • Most of all, I adore the moisturizing, non-sticky formula… Well, mostly non-sticky. You have to understand that this gloss coats the pout a certain way in order to give that non-drippy juicy, plump appearance. Gloss-consistency factors into that, and this one is on the side of thick to achieve that precise effect. However, Bobbi Brown High Shimmer Lip Gloss is still not like another, much stickier gloss brand I’ve tried. *cough* Clinique *cough*

Neutral:

  • I don’t know if it’s the same issue with the full-size tube, but it was kind of hard to get to the contents because of the consistency of the gloss with regard to theย shape of the tube. The stopper on the mouth of the tube was such a hindrance that it was easier to just remove it. I suppose users will encounter this with the full-sized gloss once less thanย half remains. Just take off the stopper, really.

Cons:

  • Pricey for a gloss. Unless it’s highly pigmented that it’s practically a liquid lipstick, I don’t like the idea of spending more than PHP 1,000 on it.

Verdict: I like the formula enough that I’m considering getting a full-sized tube. It’ll probably be from the highly-pigmented Rich Color Gloss line, so that I could better justify the purchase. (Heeheehee! Though Bellini is a pretty color as well.) But that’s probably not happening too soon. I want to use up some of the other glosses in my collection first.

17 thoughts on “Bobbi Brown High Shimmer Lip Gloss in Bellini

  1. […] I’m a bit averse to palettes that include black or black-gray shadows. I’m not super confident in using them, so a palette of browns always wins in my book. Bellini Mini Lip and Eye Palette features three mattes (light/skintone shade, medium, and dark), one metallic, and one sparkle shadow. Bone is the matte base that looks a little warmer than I’d prefer, though it just disappears once you layer other colors over it anyway. Sable is a matte medium ash-touched brown. Rich Brown is the color of dark cocoa powder. The metallic Golden Pink is self-explanatory, and the Blazing Star sparkle shadow features shimmer pigments that are chunkier and sparser than with the metallic or shimmer finishes. For my separate review of the Bellini lip gloss, click HERE. […]

  2. The color is pretty! But I share the same sentiments, I don’t like spending big on lip glosses unless they are really pigmented AND long lasting. If not, I’d rather buy lipsticks instead for that amount of money.

  3. Bellini is super pretty on you! It def catches the light. Well, I don’t wear lip gloss because my lips are so pigmented (darker side) and they don’t flatter me at me all. lol. And wow your skin is flawless and the blush application looks so natural. What is it?

    • Thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚ This is a combination of mild sunburn, Happy Skin’s Get Cheeky With Me in The Morning After (as the blush base), and Nars Deep Throat. :))

  4. Thank you for commenting on this product. I have been wanting to try this for quite some time. I was a little concerned about the price. Like you, I may need to use up some of the other lipsticks, chubbies, glosses, etc. that I have first. LOL! Great post. Check out my blog Matromao, and read some of my new posts. I would love for you to subscribe. http://www.awundergurl.com

  5. Ooh, you look gorgeous. Love how it perfectly shimmers. Thanks for the review – I’ve heard plenty about Bobbi Brown, but never got to try any of their products because its too pricey for me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • It’s shimmery without going full-on glitter. I usually buy only when there’s: a) the rare incidence of a sale; b) Christmas; and c) travel exclusives. Not sure if I’m ready to commit to a bottle of their foundation yet. That’s a lot of cash in one go. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a Reply

