Heavy Metallic Shadow

You have no idea how many metallic shadows I’ve purchased in the name of trying to achieve a highly pigmented foil effect on my lids. I still haven’t gotten there 100%, but the closest to date is an attempt to get regular-wear drugstore eye shadows to pack on the pigment and last all day. What’s the trick?

Before I get on with this hack, I’d like to dedicate this post to Juvy of Plump Cheeks. Reading her blog and meeting her in person got me so amazed at her level of shadow skills. Girl can create a metallic lid like you wouldn’t believe, and that was the inspiration for this entry. Now, the trick to a “foil-ier” lid:

Maybelline Cream Shadow

Maybelline Color Tattoo Eyeshadow! I’ve had this pot for quite some time now, and I pretty much forgot about it already. Last Sunday, I was shopping the stash, and it occurred to me that a neutral brownish-gray could do with a revamp. Plus, I’d get more use out of it before it dries up on me. Step 1: Use a neutral, long-wear cream shadow as a base color and shadow primer.

Tough as Taupe applied with fingers

Step 2: To further neutralize the cream shadow’s own color (optional), apply a lightly-colored metallic eye shadow powder over the entire lid. The pigments will stick to the cream base like a magnet and cover most .

The pinkish-white shadow evened things out

Step 3:  Build the foil by adding a darker metallic. Contour and blend away.

Olive green-gold eye shadow

 

Finished Product:

*BTW, the palette used for this entry is an old L’Oreal travel exclusive I got from Duty Paranaque.

10 thoughts on “Heavy Metallic Shadow

  1. If you like the foiled shadow look and can get your hands on it, the Makeup Geek Foiled Shadows are amazing! For $10usd, you get a lot of pigment and shine. The best part? No need for eye primer (unless you have oily eyelids but I didn’t have a problem with them creasing). Another close candidate is the L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadows. Those are amazing, especially Iced Latte, Bronzed Taupe and Amber Rush 🙂

  2. Some people say you can use that matte cream eyeshadow as an eyebrow filler too, same as how you would use those anastasia brow gels. I wonder if that’s really doable.

    • I never prime my eyes, either. Especially not buying a special shadow primer. As much as possible, I don’t want too many layers. The closest I got was to use Maybelline Baby Skin on my lids, though I hardly ever do it anymore.

  3. Wahh, so pretty! Thank you for liking my eyeshadow craziness. I really practice a lot to better myself everyday. You did very well here. Woot! More looks post pa, please! 🙂

Leave a Reply

