Benefit Dandelion Ultra Plush Lip Gloss

Despite my growing collection of lipsticks, I don’t think I’d survive without at least one lip gloss in my beauty kit. There are times that call for light color or simple shine, so the gloss is a must-have for anyone who’s building a solid stash. Try something peachy-pink and ultra-flattering like Benefit Dandelion Ultra Plush Lip Gloss (PHP 900 for the regular size tube).

Quick Specs: regular size at 15.0 mL / 0.5 US fl. oz ; made in France

Slanted applicator for comfort

 

Swatched

As far as safe colors go, you can’t go wrong with either a clear or nude gloss. While Dandelion isn’t exactly nude, it’s close enough. The Benefit website describes the color as a “soft pearly pink”, though I believe it would be more accurate to say it’s a peachy-pink with pearl shimmer. Think about it: The universally flattering blush is something like Nars Orgasm, so it makes sense that the ideal lip color would match that. Also, the pigmentation on this one is sheer, so there should be no trouble with universal compatibility. *Color reminds me of Bobbi Brown’s Bellini gloss, but with Bellini having chunkier shimmer/sparkle vs Dandelion’s fine pearl shimmer.

L: Benefit Dandelion; R: Bobbi Brown Bellini

I got a sample/travel size of Dandelion as part of a GWP (gift with purchase), and I see it as the ideal size of all glosses.  Now, even though I believe that lip glosses are go-to lip products, I don’t think a tube should be so big. That wet, plastic-wrap look isn’t as popular as a matte finish is these days, so the most a single tube will be used for is to highlight certain areas on the lips or to do a mild all-over sheen. Either way, a teeny, tiny tube will last a long time, so I’m not going to say that 15 ml  for PHP 900 is the most compelling reason to go out and get yourself one. Also, you can get this smaller size as part of a kit or palette, and that feels like more bang for the buck.

Formula-wise, you can call me a fan of Dandelion. This peach-scented, non-sticky gloss lasts an hour on me, and I don’t mind the wear time. It starts off with a wet look and concludes at the sixty-minute mark with a slight sheen that looks and feels like your average lip balm. I feel like I get a fair amount of hydration and lots of comfort wear. It’s a pleasant-feel lip gloss for gloss-haters.

Verdict: I’d consider going out to get this as part of a Benefit beauty kit/palette. At least, I’d be able to pluck the tube out and bring it along with me in my purse. No problems with the formula or color, just want to get more value out of the price.

8 thoughts on “Benefit Dandelion Ultra Plush Lip Gloss

  1. I may have to put this on my wish list. I like lip glosses that come in squeeze tubes better than the wand type. I like that you mentioned it’s not sticky. Is there any scent / taste with this gloss?

Leave a Reply

