Covergirl Trublend Liquid Makeup in L6 Buff Beige

Have you gotten a tan over the summer that required you to purchase a new foundation? Join the club! I kept telling myself to hide under hats and umbrellas, but the call of the beach was simply too strong to resist. Let the tan fall where it may! I’m “covered” with Covergirl Trublend Liquid Makeup in L6 Buff Beige.

Covergirl Trublend Liquid Makeup

Quick Specs: 30 ml / 1 fl oz ; made in USA; no SPF protection

Ingredients

First thing’s first, Trublend isn’t a new invention. It’s been around for ages but has undergone a revamp on the packaging and the color labels. Instead of struggling to remember three digits and the name of the color, CG has simplified the process by breaking the collection into three main categories, light, medium, and deep, and a single digit to represent the name of the shade. Mine happens to be L-6 Buff Beige, light beige with a peach undertone.

Twist Pump

The packaging is the standard glass pump bottle (hygienic!) with a plastic lid and a twist-to-unlock feature on the pump itself. While the bottle is heavier than the other glass foundation bottles in my vanity, the double-lock system (cap and twist-pump) at least prevents accidental spillage during travel.

To get a better sense of how the formulation works, I suggest you watch the video below. It explains how a water-based foundie like Trublend has certain advantages over silicone-based foundations:

Okay, so that video made me ooh and aah the first time I saw it, but we’ll get on to the experience. The water-based formula of Covergirl has treated my skin kindly. It has neither broken me out nor dried my cheeks up. True to its claims, the buildable coverage allows me to lightly cover redness and dark circles (but not blemishes), while also allowing me to slightly sheer out the color on the hairline, jawline, and neck for a more seamless effect. After two layers, the coverage is slightly heavier than that of tinted moisturizer. Longevity is good all day UNLESS sweating is involved. (I’ll get into that on the next paragraph.)

To Your Left: Side covered with foundation; To Your Right: Bare skin

There are three things, however, that are somewhat off-putting for Trublend Liquid Makeup. First, the formula seems to be struggling with the tropical weather. It was fine when I bought it right before full-on summer, but the foundation now comes out of the pump in weird, oxidized-looking lumps. Good thing that it doesn’t seem to affect the color and coverage once blended on the skin. Second, the loose grip of the water-based formula makes the foundation prone to streaks on my face, even with powder set over it. I cannot wear this for days when I know I’ll be sweating, because of said streaks. Finally, Covergirl Philippines doesn’t have the complete collection available locally, so perhaps foundation shopping won’t be as color-accurate as it could be.

Oxidized

Look closely: The streak goes through my blush

Verdict: I’ll reach for Covergirl Trublend Foundation on days I want light makeup to lounge around with. It’s a bottle I foresee myself finishing, because it’s fairly easy to work with the formula. Even after my skin bounces back to its lighter, original color, I can easily blend this with something or just sheer away.

To find out what foundation best suits you, try taking a short quiz on Covergirl’s website.

6 thoughts on “Covergirl Trublend Liquid Makeup in L6 Buff Beige

  1. Ugh. That picture with the lump looks so gross. Like a different kind of gross. Have you tried shaking it? If it’s a bit streaky on you, it’s going to be worse for me in this heat; everything melts of faster than I can put them on haha

  2. I’ve heard lots of reviews on this foundation but haven’t given it a try myself. I live in California, which isn’t humid but it is really hot so I find myself sweating just on the walk from my door to my car (like a couple feet away). The Covergirl 3 in 1 Outlast Foundation works for me. Color leans too pink for my yellow undertone skin but longevity and coverage is great, even with one layer. Granted, I don’t have the most problematic skin but I do have lots of post-acne hyperpigmentation and redness to cover and this reduces them dramatically that I feel comfortable going without concealer.

  3. I definitely ooh-ed and aah-ed. Then I remembered that the surface of my skin is not ‘mostly water’ — it’s mostly oil! 😛

    Anyway, I noticed that my skin likes foundations with cyclopentasiloxane.

    PS. You must be the first (and only) person I know who featured this product. Love when I see these types of post on my feed. But sad that it didn’t work for you.

Leave a Reply

