Covergirl The Super Sizer by Lashblast Mascara

I have to cop to being a little mascara-lazy lately. The only formulas that work for me are either waterproof or strongly water-resistant, and they’re honestly not  the easiest to remove at the end of a long day. My lash-enhancers have, therefore, been relegated to the use-on-nights-out-only pile until I received a package from Covergirl containing their latest,The Supersizer by Lashblast  Mascara in Very Black.

Covergirl The Super Sizer by Lashblast Mascara


Quick Specs:12 ml / 0.4 fl oz ; made in USA

Ingredients

I was excited to see what this mascara could do after seeing the collection’s ads featurung Katy Perry (yup, I’m a fan) and the bold 400% volume claim. The wand looks fairly simple as opposed to the elaborately shaped contraptions I’m used to, so how could you possibly get a volume explosion out of that?

Wand

Top: Volume and length; Bottom: With and without mascara

Four Things About Covergirl The Super Sizer by Lashblast Mascara:

•I notice that Covergirl’s mascaras tend to have brightly-colored, chunky packaging, making them both attractive and easy-to-spot on the vanity or makeup kit. However, that same chunkiness tends to make them bulky for travel. On the other hand, the all-around wide tube shape of Supersizermakes it easier to grip for clumsy hands like mine.

•The formula gives pretty impressive volume and length. With just two coats, I can achieve a significantly noticeable effect. My mom and grandma were astounded by the results. “What are you doing with fake lashes on?! We’re going on a plane.” I kid you not, that was their reaction. Personally, I don’t think it’s the length of false lashes (though volume is a contender), because it looks more like tremendously healthy rather than exgerrated. One coat is good for well-defined, natural-looking lashes. Two is extra healthy.That brings us to…

•The other special feature is the formula that holds curls excellently and the all-day longevity. I’ve worn this on 9-, 10-, and 12-hour days in high heat and humidity with very minimal or no smudging. Just keep coats thin and let dry completely. The level of curl-hold is something I usually get from Japanese brands. I can get crazy volume at 3-4 coats, but it takes a lot of building up and lashes, while fanned out, start to look like one wide mass.

Best of all, it’s a wash-off formula that works with whatever cleanser or makeup remover I use at home. I still double-cleanse to make sure all makeup is off, but I’ve had no trouble with this.

Smudge-free after a flight

Verdict: I would (re-)purchase The Super Sizer. Bravo, CG. It does its name justice. Sizeable definition that actually stays put isn’t the easiest to come by with washable mascara formulas.

*I received this product free-of-charge for editorial consideration, but was not otherwise compensated for this review. The opinions shared here are entirely my own*

19 thoughts on “Covergirl The Super Sizer by Lashblast Mascara

  1. […] Covergirl The Super Sizer by Lashblast Mascara – We vacation in a panicky way. It’s always off to the next attraction in a hurry, so we always end up knackered at the end of each day. For that reason, I anticipated being too tired to fuss with removing waterproof mascara separately. I wanted something I could rub out with micellar water along with the rest of my face, so this was my natural choice. It also survives the elements exceptionally well for a washable mascara. […]

  2. Nice! I have been thinking of trying out the mascaras from Cover Girl because this brand is a sister company of Max Factor and I LOVE their False Lash Effect Mascara. I’m thinking that since they are under the same company, they might have similar formulas. CG is more affordable so maybe I can save a few bucks if I use their mascara instead. 😀 Thanks for the review! 😀

    • Haven’t tried Max Factor mascara, but this is definitely worth checking out. I’ve liked CG since high school for the wearable shadows, but the mascaras are the true level-up.

  3. For a long time, my favorite drugstore mascara was the CG Clump Crusher in Water resistant but now, I’ve gotta give this one a try! HeaRd so many good things about this one 😁

  4. Cool! I only have Heroine Make right now and I don’t use it often because it is hard to remove XD Like you, I can only use waterproof mascaras because of my weird eye shape and lids, and stick straight short lashes.

Leave a Reply

