Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Gel-Cream Eyeshadow in Bad to the Bronze

I just came from a tea party of sorts this afternoon, an experience I’ll be writing about at a later date. Just wanted to say that I’m happy to see the Philippines embracing tea culture with arms wide open, from the zen Japanese matcha places to the fancy Western high-tea concept (yes, I’m referring to TWG).

Unfortunately, I found myself running late due to an appointment to have my pet groomed, so makeup had to be done on the fly. (Boy, this is becoming a more frequent occurrence—the quickie makeup application, not the dog grooming.) I slapped on some Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 HR Cream Eyeshadow in Bad to the Bronze (PHP 379) that I bought for my Back to the Basics Beauty Kit and headed out in a rush. Did it rise up to the challenge? Read on to find out more.

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24HR Eye Shadow in Bad to the Bronze

Quick Specs: 4 g ; made in China

Ingredients

Swatched; Left: One Layer; Right: Three Layers

Six Things About Maybelline Color Tattoo Eyeshadow :

  • The moderately sized cream shadow pot is actually shallow, since the glass base is quite thick. Still the same as with the packaging of my very first Color Tattoo Cream Shadow, Tough as Taupe. I want to see Maybelline come up with a Color Tattoo pen-type packaging, like the ones Laura Mercier and Bobbi Brown have. It’ll be more convenient and spot-on for application, and the shadow could automatically be used to line the eye without the need for brushes. As it is, I don’t mind the pot so much. It’s a little heavy, but a plastic one might look tacky. Besides, the promising lasting power allows you to leave the pot at home.
  • As I’ve mentioned, longevity is impressive. I put this on at 2:30 pm. It is now 10:30 pm, and it hasn’t creased. I’ve gone 12 hours and more, and it’s given me minimal creasing. Note: I don’t do eyelid primer.
  • The gel-cream formula is light and smooth. At its optimal (aka freshly opened) consistency, it comes on in thin layers that can be built up for a more foiled effect. That’s precisely what I do: One layer is a light, natural-looking sheen, but I go for three layers for a smokier effect.
  •  No. 25 Bad to the Bronze is my no-brainer pick. There are eight available shades in the Philippines, and they’re all metallic. Three are the most versatile/natural/wearable of the collection, namely Barely Branded (light champagne; the type of sheer shimmer popular in Japanese-inspired everyday makeup), Inked in Pink (a somewhat dusty, somewhat rosy pink), and Bad to the Bronze (bronze tempered with gold) while the rest are statement-makers. My ultimate one-shadow looks tend to go the metallic and bronze route, since I need a visible yet natural impact in minimal swipes.
  •  PHP 379 is a steal for the quality. I’m already looking to buy the other two wearable shades mentioned above.
  • Easy removal. I’ve used wipes and cleansing oils with no issues.

After 7 hours

Tip: Keep the quality of cream shadow at optimum levels by storing upside-down. The moisture will keep coming to the top.

Verdict: Compared to high end brands I’ve tried, Maybelline gives them a run for their money in terms of Color Tattoo’s lasting power and quality/consistency. The only con is how the line hasn’t expanded locally. We’ve only still got eight metallics, whereas I’ve seen mattes in other Asian countries.

8 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Gel-Cream Eyeshadow in Bad to the Bronze

  1. I am very late with the color tattoo train but I am definitely obsessed with these. My go-to look is either bad to the bronze on the lids or gold rush on the lids plus any matte brown eyeshadow on the crease. Too bad Maybelline didn’t expand their collection here. Di daw kasi mabenta sabi ng mga sales lady. I bought another bad to the bronze and barely branded for backup habang naka sale sila. 299 until end of july.

  2. I want it. I want all of them :(( Does this one crease though? Gold Rush creases like a fridge-bound Reynolds wrap, which doesn’t happen with Emerald or the other pinkish one

  3. Ohh. I want the Tough As Taupe! Did you buy this shade here? If I can’t find the taupe one here, I might go for this one. Bad As Bronze seems like the color you can take from day to night. Effortless ang ganda! 🙂

    • Taupe isn’t available here. 😦 I was only able to get Bronze locally. Try mo online sellers na lang. I tend to favor bronze shadows for that very reason. They’re usually buildable and versatile.

Leave a Reply

