Journey to MAC Part I

You read right, it’s a journey to MAC. In my years of collecting makeup, I’ve only ever had one MAC product, a Viva Glam V lipstick, that was gifted to me many years ago. Does my beauty junkie street cred take a serious hit, because of that? I hope not! There was always just something else on my wishlist when it came to high-end makeup (Bobbi Brown, Laura Mercier, etc.), and I felt like MAC would always be there anyway.

I didn’t even notice how glaringly MAC-less my collection was until I was out and about with Tellie, who played my enabler that day. Foolishly, I didn’t create a wishlist of products beforehand, so I had no idea what I wanted. (Every time I stop by the MAC counter on a random swatching trip, I end up liking something different. Unfortunately, I’ve never fully decided to just go for it, so I’m not sure that it wasn’t just a lemming.) Ended up not getting MAC (yet again!), but now I want to organize a wishlist that I can take along on my next swatch trip.

See my picks and help me decide what to get!

1. The No-brainer: MAC Amplified Lipstick in Craving

MAC Craving

I’ll tell you right now that this is my safe choice. I love plums for being more grown-up than pink, and this formula offers a surprising kick of pigment coupled with high-shine. I wanted Plumful before I discovered Craving, but I found it too sheer for my liking. Been using mattes a lot this year, but some part of me is still obsessed with a high-pigment + shine combo.

2. The Lemming: MAC Satin Lipstick in Rebel

MAC Rebel

I saw this on a work colleague, okay?! Rich, dark, and fall-friendly, the sight of Rebel reminds me that the colder season is coming. (Sadly, being in a tropical country, I can’t even legitimately say, “Winter is coming.”) It’s gorgeous, but I feel like the plum registers more on her than it does me. I feel like I’m getting more of the fuchsia part, so I’ll have to try it again just to be sure.

3. The Impossible Dream: MAC Matte Lipstick in Men Love Mystery

MAC Men Love Mystery

Maybe not so impossible? This is the attractive shade I wish I could pull off. Unlikely that I could due to teeth-color issues, but a girl can dream.

4. The Pa-tweetums Pick (aka The Cutesy Choice): MAC Lustre Lipstick in Syrup

MAC Syrup

It looks like tinted lip balm, but I did found it cute the last few times I swatched. Not sure if that impression is enough to make me want to buy.

5. The Bold Choice: Three-way tie among MAC Cremesheen Lipstick in Hang-up, MAC Amplified Lipstick in Heaux, and MAC Matte Lipstick in Diva.

MAC Hang-Up

MAC Heaux

MAC Diva

Obviously, these are my intense color picks for fall. Can’t really explain. They just look cool.

What should I start with?

*All photos are from the official MAC website.

10 thoughts on “Journey to MAC Part I

  1. I don’t have a MAC lipstick 😛 I am a Korean brand person so I never really bothered and whenever I pass by a MAC store, I get overwhelmed by the lipstick selection. Craving looks really good and I think it would look good with your skin 🙂

  2. wah im still upset that heaux isnt matte anymore. i waited for that shade for a very long time kasi i missed it when it came out as matte limited edition :S it looks a lot like rebel daw except rebel had a sheen in it. now their super similar na :S
    craving is really nice tho, youre right nga its a safe plum. i feel like itll look good with a lot of skintones 🙂

Leave a Reply

