The Body Shop Bar Soaps

I suppose I’ve come a long way with my bath products. When I was in elementary, my idea of a luxurious bath was to treat myself to the sweet-smelling Safe Guard Fruity instead of the usual anti-bacterial soap my mom would purchase. It evolved to The Body Shop’s body washes, when friends started gifting those every Christmas. (Love ’em, and I still repurchase when there’s a sale!) But now I’ve decided to luxuriate with The Body Shop Olive Soap and Shea Soap (Regular Price is around PHP 195 each; got them on sale at buy-1-take-1)

Quick Specs: 100 g ; made in UK

The Body Shop Shea Butter Soap

The Body Shop Olive Soap

Ingredients for Olive Bar Soap: Sodium Palmate, Sodium Palm Kernelate, Aqua, Glycerin, Parfum, Limonene, Hexyl Cinnamal, Olea Europaea Fruit Oil, Linalool, Citric Acid, Etidronic Acid, Tetrasodium EDTA, CI 77492, CI 77288, CI 77499.

Ingredients for Shea Butter Bar Soap: Sodium Palmate (Surfactant), Sodium Palm Kernelate (Surfactant), Aqua (Water) (Solvent/Diluent), Glycerin (Humectant), Sorbitol (Humectant), Palm Kernel Acid (Surfactant), Parfum (Fragrance), Butyrospermum parkii (Shea Butter) (Emollient), Linalool (Fragrance Ingredient), Coumarin (Fragrance Ingredient), Tetrasodium EDTA (Chelating Agent), Tetrasodium Etidronate (Chelating Agent), Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone (Fragrance Ingredient), Limonene (Fragrance Ingredient), Butylphenyl Methylpropional (Fragrance Ingredient), Citronellol (Fragrance Ingredient), Citral (Fragrance Ingredient), Geraniol (Fragrance Ingredient), Eugenol (Fragrance Ingredient), CI 77891 (Colour), CI 77492 (Colour), CI 77491 (Colour).

 
I actually got them last Christmas, while I was shopping for gifts to friends. (Yes, body washes were also gifted from my end! We should start a Secret Santa, The Body Shop Body Wash Edition.) Like a true beauty addict, I also shopped for myself. The buy-1-take-1 promotion put the soaps in my price range, so I got a gift box containing two soaps.

Three Things About The Body Shop Soaps:

  • The plastic packaging is simple and easy to open. The soap bar itself is big, so at least you feel like you’re paying for a hefty bar of soap.
  • Olive smells exactly like its body butter counterpart. The enchanting scent drifts across the room. When I walk into the bathroom, it’s the first thing I get a whiff of and I love it. Shea, on the other hand, is slightly different from the body butter. Though it has the same comforting, musky almost-vanilla scent, I’m also getting a hint of cologne. If you’re familiar with those old-fashioned imported soaps like Heno de Pravia, it’s got a little bit of that. The scents don’t linger for long post-bath, so they don’t clash with perfumes.
  • Most impressively, The Body Shop’s soaps lather up well without drying the skin out. It’s a fine, creamy lather that goes a long way. That’s part of the reason a single bar lasts well over a month for me. Skin feels clean to the touch afterwards, but still somehow moist. (Aaaarg. It’s hard to explain! Try it to believe it.)

Verdict:  The Body Shop Soap is perfect for those, like me, who have to wean off daily scrubs and abrasive shower puffs due to dry skin. Some people are so used to daily exfoliation that returning to soap bars may feel unclean. The formula satisfies both the desire to feel squeaky clean and the need to keep skin hydrated.  Then again, I’d recommend these soaps to everybody. Looking forward to trying out the tart yet ultimately sweet Strawberry soap.

5 thoughts on “The Body Shop Bar Soaps

Leave a Reply

