Koh Gen Do Cleansing Spa Water

It’s been some time since I’ve stepped into a spa, so the closest I’m getting to it at the moment is through the beauty products I have at home. Koh Gen Do is one of those brands you gasp at the sight of, because of its popularity in Hollywood. The second reason to gasp is the price tag. How fortunate, then, that Koh Gen Do Cleansing Spa Water (regular price of smaller bottle is at PHP 650; discounted to PHP 487.50) was on sale at Beauty Bar in Robinson’s Magnolia.

Koh Gen Do Cleansing Spa Water

Quick Specs: 3.38 fl. oz. / 100 ml , also available in a 10.15 fl. oz. / 300 ml bottle ; made in Japan; rinse-free and oil-free; safe for contact lens wearers

Ingredients

Six Things About Koh Gen Do Cleansing Water:

  • How considerate of Koh Gen Do to come up with small and big packaging for their cleansing water. This is acceptable for travel. Unfortunately, I didn’t see the 100 ml bottle anymore on the Koh Gen Do official US and Japan sites. So… travel size has been discontinued?! *face palm*
  • A soaked cotton pad is enough to take off a full face of makeup. While it actually means maximizing the crap out of that tiny cotton pad—as in using it front and back, one side for the eyes and the other for the rest of the face—I didn’t want to waste the precious stuff. Ideally, you use two pads to avoid feeling icky. Yet that only goes to show how effective the Koh Gen Do Cleansing Water is.
  • For foundation, BB cream, powder, and blush, this takes everything off in a single pass. With eye makeup, including eyeliner, washable mascara, and eyeshadow, I have to press the cotton pad to my lids and count to ten before I slowly and lightly wipe the pad across the lid in order to successfully get everything. I repeat the action to make sure there’s nothing left. As the brows are shielded by hair, it’ll take two to three repeats to make sure the area has been cleaned.
  • I used the Cleansing Spa Water on tight-lined eyes, and didn’t experience any irritation. Love the mildness! Skin didn’t feel raw afterwards, either.
  • While the directions indicate that there’s no need to wash off the product afterwards, I still follow up with facial wash. Force of habit.
  • The packaging claims that it can remove waterproof makeup and skin impurities. In my experience, it draws the line at Japanese “Tattoo” makeup. Some of the fibers budged from my K-Palette 1 Day Lash Perm Mascara, but it involved pulling on the lids. I didn’t want to force it, so I took the mascara off separately afterwards with dual phase makeup remover.

Verdict: Koh Gen Do Cleansing Water didn’t pass the super-waterproof test, but it’s worked for everything else without any issues. ‘Twas an effective introduction to cleansing water/micellar water for me, though I still can’t live without the bi-phase makeup removers as backup.

4 thoughts on “Koh Gen Do Cleansing Spa Water

  1. Seems like a really good makeup remover. I like that it’s mild (not stingy) but effective. I do, however, like using waterproof eyeliners and mascaras so I might have to use a different remover if I were to try this out. 😛 Thank you for the review. 😀

Leave a Reply

