Maybelline Fashion Brow Duo Shaper in Brown

For the most part, I’m all done with buying fall makeup. I’m well-aware that the bolder colors I’ve chosen are only going to get the most wear for three months, then they’ll be relegated to my roster of for-evening-look beauty products. But hair is a different story. I’m actually considering changing my hair color again.

I love my lighter color to bits, but maintenance is such a hassle. I get super OC when I see the roots exceed the one inch mark. At this point, I’m seriously considering either gradually transitioning back to darker or just dyeing over the entire thing with dark brown. And then there’s the matter of switching brow makeup to match the new hair… Arrrrrgh! Changing your hair color is a major commitment.

Before we get into that complicated discussion that’s meant for another blog post, I’ll review Maybelline Fashion Brow Shaper Duo in Brown (PHP 299). We’re already on the topic of brow color anyway. Plus, I got this as part of my “emergency” Maybelline haul.

Maybelline Fashion Brow Duo Shaper

Ingredients

Quick Specs: shadow 0.5 g / pen 0.11 g ; made in China

Four Things About Maybelline Brow Duo Shaper:

  • Compact, dual-ended brow filler housed in sturdy plastic? We’re off to a great start. One end is a twist-up pen-type liner for mapping brows, while the other end is a sponge-tip applicator with the powder found inside the twist-off cap meant to fill in the brows. That means the sponge is re-colored every time you use it. The packaging is convenient, with the only con being the silver lettering on the packaging that fades/rubs off easily.
  • Longevity wasn’t an issue for me, but it never is with eye brow products. I did try swatching on the back of my hand and rubbing it out. The color came off gradually and not completely, so it should be fine with regular day-to-night wear.
  • The shade I got is Brown, and I remember that this line only has a limited number of colors available. The color of the sponge-tip end slightly differs from pen end in that the pen is in an ashier brown versus the yellow-tinged brown of the sponge applicator powder. Overall, their take on brown is on the grayish side, so it tends to contrast with my current hair color. My hair requires a more yellow-based brown. With my normal hair color, dark bro/black, the tone of the brown would look just fine.
  • The brow pen is thin and firm, making it easy to maneuver with but not so soft to draw with. A soften pen would’ve required less pressure, but this firmer, drier type might be more ideal when it comes to wear time. On the other hand, I appreciate how marshmallow-soft the sponge tip is. Its bounciness is ideal for soft dabs of color that makes the whole thing look more natural as opposed to zealously lined.

Swatched; Top: Using the pen side to map and the powder side to fill

Still going strong at the end of the night

Verdict: Because of my tendency to change hair colors, I have to have several brow color options on hand. For my natural hair color, Fashion Brow Duo Shaper is the affordable slap-on brow product I can keep in my purse for shaped and filled brows in an instant. Bonus points for Maybelline coming up with something that can be used multiple ways.

5 thoughts on “Maybelline Fashion Brow Duo Shaper in Brown

  1. Have you tried the new L’Oreal one, the one with the pencil, powder, and spoolie? I’m wondering how it compares. That one is PhP500, so if I can save PhP200… (I don’t need unli-spoolies naman!)

    • Hmm… Surprisingly, I have little or no L’Oréal products in my collection. It’s mostly been Maybelline and Revlon. I’ll look into that, now that you’ve mentioned it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

