Givenchy Reve d’Escapade

My biggest splurge of 2015 has got to be on perfume. I think I’ve exercised more restraint last year than I did in 2014, and it was a major end-of-the-year warehouse sale that finally got me. Then again, most of the purchases were for Christmas presents, so does that really count? (Humor me, dear readers.) I walked away with a few fragrance purchases to last me the whole of 2016. One of them was Givenchy Reve d’Escapade Eau de Toilette.

Givenchy Reve d’Escapade

Quick Specs: 50 ml / 1.7 fl. 0z ; made in France

20160120_162120_zpsnmvyul7d

Ingredients

 

In true treat yo self fashion, Reve d’Escapade is my very first Givenchy anything. I’ve only ever admired the brand from afar and associated it with celebrities like Audrey Hepburn (Hubert de Givenchy’s muse) and Kim Kardashian (Givenchy wedding dress). But I fell in love with the scent at first whiff, so it wasn’t such a hard decision to make.

The packaging is simplistic yet memorable. Reve features a thick, red plastic cap, a chunky glass body cut into facets like those found in a table cut diamond, and two printed intricate patterns on the face of the bottle. I personally find the squarish design satisfying to my desire for symmetry. (It’s an OC thing I have that also applies to makeup packaging.) Also, the 50 ml size is big without getting too bulky.

Does the scent make me feel anything remotely like Audrey? Maybe not. I’m well aware that 50’s fragrances were all about aldehyde, whereas Reve d’Escapade goes in a completely opposite direction. It is the mildest fruity-floral to the nose with emphasis on rose. Sweet without getting cloying, it features a lovely blend of notes that aren’t too complex. According to Fragrantica, it has notes of peaches, rose, and massoia wood. I’m not exactly sure how the scent fits into the marketing campaign of having dreams of escape to world travel. I get more of a stop-and-smell-the-roses vibe on a quiet afternoon outdoors rather than the exotic bohemian traveler. Perhaps, that’s where the Audrey Hepburn bit comes in. Her character says in the movie, Sabrina, “La Vie En Rose. It is the French way of saying, ‘I am looking at the world through rose-coloured glasses.’ ”

Because this Givenchy scent is all about subtlety, the longevity is around 1-2 hours on the skin and up to 4 hours on clothing. Even from first spray, it’s the type of scent that can only be caught up-close, thereby making it one of the more intimate types of fragrance.

Verdict: I am happy to have that one subtle blink-and-you’ll-miss-it scent. There are moments when I want to amplify my persona or channel confidence through makeup and fragrance, but just as well I have moments where I am comfortable and relaxed. For the latter, Givenchy’s Reve d’Escapade fits the bill. I was more than a little heartbroken to learn of its limited edition status, though. If you’re interested, grab a bottle before the last of it is gone.

2 thoughts on “Givenchy Reve d’Escapade

Leave a Reply

