Valentia Ultra Plumping Hydration Mask

I like to alternate between mask types to change my routine a little, so it’s important for me to find a brand that doesn’t react when I choose to switch around. Valentia Ultra Plumping Hydration Mask (original price at USD 54.99; currently on sale for USD 25) came with my Valentia True Glow Eye Cream, and it was an interesting departure from the sheet masks of late.

Valentia Ultra Plumping Hydration Mask

Quick Specs:  4 fl oz / 120 ml ; made in the USA ; cruelty-free ; alcohol- and paraben-free

Valentia Hydrating Mask Ingredients

The Ultra Plumping Hydration Mask comes in a simple white plastic jar. I do appreciate the light packaging, since the colloidal content itself is already heavy. There is no seal, so you twist the cap to directly reveal the product inside. Some of the key ingredients include botanical hyaluronic acid, silk protein amino acids, Japanese green tea, aloe vera, and organic rosehip seed oil.

There seems to be a trend in face masks right now that they have to look like jelly or pudding. Remember back in the 90’s when it was all about mud packs? Well now it’s all about the pudding masks! The hydrating facial mask looks like a lot of fun right off the jar. It’s jiggly and smells amazing, like a sweet citrus-fruity blend combined with a hint of essential oils. It makes me think of eating small oranges in someone’s backyard. To scoop up the product, I suggest the use of a small, plastic spoon as the jelly-like consistency makes it a little tricky to get enough in one go. It’s also more hygienic to just use a spoon.

Valentia Mask

On the skin, the hydrating face mask initially has a slight stinging sensation when applied on the corners of the nose and the area around the nose, though I’m uncertain whether this applies to most users or just me. Personally, that part of my face usually feels and reacts that way with potent skincare products. Visibly, there was no redness or swelling, so no cause for panic. The hydrating mask leaves a slight orange tint and completely dries in about ten minutes. There is a slight feeling of tightening on the skin, but it isn’t uncomfortable or stiff. I can still react normally with my facial expressions. After the recommended 15-30 minutes of leaving it on, a damp cloth with warm water is recommended to remove the mask. I’ve tried both this method and just rinsing the formula off. With a wash cloth, you end up manually exfoliating the skin as you wipe the stuff off. I prefer to rinse, because it feels gentler.

Left: Freshly applied; Right: Dried after 10 minutes

Afterwards, skin feels refreshed. I think the moisture part is addressed when the ultra hydrating facial mask is left to get fully absorbed by the face in those first 10-15 minutes. Since it’s something you just slap on and practically forget about, the mask makes for a pleasant weekly skin treat.

Verdict: Valentia Ultra Plumping Hydration Mask is a nice little piece of indulgence for my face. It’s easy to use, since it doesn’t require any extra tools or prep. For those who want that aromatherapy treatment feeling without any complicated ceremony beforehand, this summer-scented mask is the answer.

Note: This mask can be ordered via Amazon or the Valentia website.

* I received this product free-of-charge from Valentia via Brandbacker for editorial consideration. I was not paid or otherwise compensated for this review. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own.*

3 thoughts on “Valentia Ultra Plumping Hydration Mask

Leave a Reply

