Belo Intensive Whitening BB Cream SPF 50

How do you unwind at the end of a workday? I’m trying to catch up on my reading, but I usually just end up watching a show instead. It’s probably because I’ve been reading from the computer for most of the day, so I want to make it an effortless experience during the evenings.

Recently, I stumbled upon Impractical Jokers while channel-surfing, and it is hilarious. It’s a reality show about four comedians who challenge each other to say and do inappropriate things to strangers who have no idea that a show is being filmed. Whoever fails the most times to do as he’s told has to play a consequence round at the end of every show. It’s not mind-blowing stuff, but it is a lot of fun to see them flustered.

Speaking of fun, I am seriously enjoying testing out a lot of BB Creams. I’m so used to the thick, moisturizing, almost-gooey type of BB that anything remotely different surprises me to no end. The latest BB cream to take a drastically different turn is Belo Intensive Whitening BB Cream in Medium to Deep (PHP 349.75) that I got from Sample Room.

Belo Intensive White BB Cream

Quick Specs: 50 ml ; made in the Philippines ; paraben-free ; non-comedogenic ; hypoallergenic ; dermatologist tested.

Belo BB Cream Ingredients

The packaging is the same pearly plastic tube that most Belo products are housed in. This one is part of their Kojic Acid + Tranexamic Acid line, so it’s in the same orange-and-white theme. The shiny twist-off cap reveals a narrow-tipped tube nozzle that suits the formula of this particular BB.

Belo BB Nozzle

Like I mentioned earlier, this BB came as a surprise because of how the formula seems to go the opposite route of the typically rich Korean BB Cream. When first squeezed out of the tube, you wouldn’t think any differently of the Belo BB. You’d probably even wonder why the tube dispenses so little product. But it all becomes apparent once you start blending it in: The consistency is whipped and airy-light, while the coverage is sheer. I experienced a slight tingling upon application, so I have point out that the combination of kojic acid and tranexamic acid could be on the potent side. (Those with sensitive skin should go slow and check for any irritation.) It takes two layers to even out redness and produce an instant brightening effect, but freckles and blemishes don’t disappear. I’m uncertain whether the brightening is from the SPF 50 pa++++, but it doesn’t leave an obvious white cast in photos. I’ve only seen the shade Medium to Deep available, but it’s a good match to my pale skin that blends in seamlessly. A little bit goes a long way, so you don’t need a lot of product.

Belo BB Swatch; Left: Partially Blended; Right: Fully Blended

The finish of the Belo BB Cream is a soft, powdery matte. It reminds me of those cream-to-powder face bases, but this one didn’t bring out my dry spots. It also didn’t look flat. There’s room to set it with powder, though the finish itself already gives the look of a light dusting of face powder. In the case of my dry skin, I can go an hour or two without setting for a natural makeup look. When the tip of my nose and forehead start to get shiny at the second hour, then I’ll blot or add the powder so as not to overdry my skin. When set with powder right off the bat, it I give it 3-4 hours before blotting and retouching is necessary.

Your Left: 2 Layers of Belo BB Cream; Your Right: Bare Skin

Belo BB Cream All Over

Verdict: I’m seeing yet another one-shade-fits-all BB cream that I would’ve just shrugged off initially, but the sheerness of Belo Intensive Whitening Kojic Acid and Tranexamic Acid BB Cream make it more versatile than it lets on. I can’t comment on any whitening effect, but I’ll take its instant brightening that makes my skin look more awake and fresh.

One thought on “Belo Intensive Whitening BB Cream SPF 50

Leave a Reply

