Pink Sugar Eye Candy Eye Shadow Palette in EC-01

It’s heating up for election time! As I’m typing this, I’m watching the presidential candidate debate. While I won’t be sharing any political views here, I will note how everyone around me is anything but neutral about their presidentiable bet. It’s practically a war breaking out on Facebook. But unlike local politics, the Pink Sugar Eye Candy Eye Shadow Palette in EC-01 (PHP 699) is a fair mix of neutral and cool. (See what I did there?)

Pink Sugar Eye Candy Eye Shadow

Quick Specs: 0.42 oz / 12 g ; made in Taiwan

Pink Sugar Eye Candy Ingredients

Packed in a colorful patterned box, the Eye Candy eyeshadow palette has a notably pretty presentation. The shiny black plastic palette that houses the ten shadows inside has a satisfying heft and a tight-fitting snap closure that gives the packaging a more expensive look and feel. The same pattern on the box is stamped on the lid in a simple black-and-pink theme. Inside, there’s a big mirror and a dual-ended sponge-tip applicator and synthetic fine brush combo.

The first five shadows consist of a satiny baby pink, a medium brownish dusty rose, a medium pink with a touch of peach, a shimmery silvery pink, and a shimmery peachy pink. The second set of shadows are made up of a shimmery pinkish bronze, a shimmery green-blue, a dark teal with blue shimmer, a shimmery silvery black, and a matte black. I notice that the latter five are a bit harder to rub off than the former five, so that may factor into the longevity of the palette.

Pink Sugar Eye Candy Swatches

Initially, I used a fluffy shader brush to apply the colors, since I usually only use the included sponge-tip applicators when I travel. I noticed that the pigment had trouble adhering to the brush hairs, even to the synthetic brush included in the palette. I would pack on the shadow, but to no avail. Then I decided to use the sponge-tip applicator, and it got so much more pigment to my lids! The same goes for using fingers. The included synthetic brush is best for using the shadow as a liner. It’s better for precision application, otherwise the shadow tends to look patchy with it.

Application is smooth and I was surprised that there was no fallout. Blending is easier with a brush, but also doable with the shadow sponge. What’s more, the longevity was actually good. The shadows went beyond the 6-hour mark, especially the darker shades.

Here are three looks I achieved using this palette:

Verdict: A self-confessed neutral shadow addict, I found Pink Sugar Eye Candy EC-01 to be a convincing case to make for cool-toned shadows. Overall, I feel like you get a good deal on the price for the quality of shadows you get.

 

Pink Sugar products are available in some SM Department Store branches, The Landmark Department Store, and BeautyMNL.

One thought on “Pink Sugar Eye Candy Eye Shadow Palette in EC-01

Leave a Reply

