Tarte Tartelette Tease Clay Palette

Call me an official Tartelette now! This brand has always been on my radar of things I’ve been dying to try but aren’t yet available in stores/malls locally. So when I learned that they now officially ship to the Philippines, I rang up friends who wanted to join in on the fun. One of the items I picked up was the limited edition Tarte Tartelette Tease Amazonian Clay Eyeshadow Palette (USD 21; PHP 1,078.50) that I’ll be reviewing today.

Tarte Tartelette Tease

Quick Specs: 0.85 g / 0.03 oz x 6 shadows ; made in USA ; cruelty free ; dermatologist tested

Tartelette Tease Ingredients

Shadow palettes are everything to me right now. I tried getting individual pans before, but it’s just so convenient and easy to have a curated set ready and waiting, especially a tiny one like this for times when I do my makeup during the commute. The packaging is cardboard with a magnetic closure. It’s slim and lightweight, so it’s no trouble at all to have in the on-the-go makeup kit. Two things I specifically love about the packaging is the big mirror on the inside of the lid and the names of the shadow colors printed inside.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Big Mirror

Right off the bat, the first thing I noticed was the vanilla scent of the shadows. A breeze blew by, and I went, “Mmmm…!” Next, I noticed how pleasantly buttery the shadows were. They were easy to pick up and blend together on the lids with a shader brush, and I got almost no fallout. The exceptions to the rule, however, and it came in the form of Crush and Heartbreaker. The former’s chunky shimmer pigments are ideal for lightly dabbing on targeted areas for sparkle, while the latter had a somewhat patchy application.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Swatched from Left to Right: Whisper, Crush, Heartbreaker, Wink, First Kiss, and BFF

Here’s the description for each shade:

Whisper is a superfine cream-touched beige matte shadow.
Crush is a metallic bronze with chunky gold shimmer bits.
Heartbreaker is a matte coffee brown.
Wink is a matte pink beige.
First Kiss is a metallic, rosy bronze.
BFF is a matte smokey purple-plum.

My favorite look using this palette: First, I use Wink as the base shadow. Second, I use BFF on the outer corners of my eyes up to the center and just below the crease. I optionally use Heartbreaker to slightly deepen the crease. Third, I use First Kiss to blend everything out. Fourth, Whisper is used to highlight my brow bone. Fifth and finally, I use Crush as a sheer wash of shimmer/sparkle over the entire lid to complete the look.

Look 1 with Tartelette Tease

Look 2 with Tartelette Tease

I like the level of pigmentation on the Tartelette Tease palette. I get a fair amount of color, but it’s easy to blend and sheer out at the same time with my shader brush. As for longevity, it could use some improvement. After 4 hours, the shadows have fully creased. That is with a little bit of silicone primer on my lids.

As for the other claims: Formulated without parabens, mineral oil, pthalates, triclosan, sodium lauryl sulfate, gluten.

Verdict: Not at all a bad way to start a love affair with Tarte makeup. I adore the curation of their colors and the combination of matte and shimmer shadows. So many looks I can do!

8 thoughts on “Tarte Tartelette Tease Clay Palette

  1. I got this recently but didn’t notice any scent to the shadows! I’ll have to sniff it.
    And yes, it’s my first foray into Tarte makeup too. I really like this palette – so compact and offers complete eye looks.

Leave a Reply

