Kate Tokyo Makeup Lock Primer

Summer is ‘prime time’ for me. My skin is extra moist then, and the usual primer formula will exacerbate dry spots on other days. But here I am with a promising one from Japan, whose mother-brand is the popular Kanebo. The Kate Makeup Lock Primer (PHP 550) seems to be going the opposite route, much to my relief.

Kate Makeup Lock Primer

Quick Specs: 15 g ; made in Japan

Ingredients

The full name for this product is Kate Tokyo Makeup Lock Primer for Cover. It is housed in a simple black tube. There is only one shade/variant available, 01 Bright Up Color. The tapered nozzle makes it easy to dispense an appropriate amount of product, and the primer’s consistency works well with the packaging. No spills or messes!

Kate Tokyo Makeup Lock Primer for Cover

Looks like marshmallow frosting

Fragrance-free with a gel-cream texture, the Kate primer applies smoothly and just disappears on to the skin. The effects are instant brightening, pore minimizing, and skin-texture improvement. See for yourself:

Your left: With Kate primer; your right: bare skin

Aside from the immediately visible results upon application, the makeup lock name is fitting. I feel like foundation adheres so much better with this base makeup underneath. I took my pet to the vet at high noon and did errands, basically sweating through my shirt. My makeup didn’t rub off as easily as when I skip primer. I also notice that it holds off a shiny face for an extra hour before I have to touch up.

 

Verdict: The price strikes me as reasonable for the quality of the primer. I have been using this regularly already, and I intend to keep it in my beauty routine through cooler, drier weather.

BTW, did you know that Kate Tokyo Philippines is on sale until the end of the month? Click HERE to see where their products are on sale.

*I received this product free-of-charge from Kate Tokyo after attending a media event for Project Vanity. I was not otherwise compensated to write this review. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own.*

Leave a Reply

