The Body Shop Vitamin E Gentle Facial Wash

How was your weekend? Mine was certainly better than the last. I spent last week recovering from an ulcer that decided to act up, and I was only too glad to be feeling well enough to catch a movie on Sunday. The flick du jour was Now You See Me 2. And while I still think the first one kicked the sequel’s bum, I’m still looking forward to Now You See Me 3. (I read that it’s already being planned!)

But back to beauty products… I love my current face wash to bits, but it’s about to run out. I’ve started using The Body Shop Vitamin E Gentle Face Wash (PHP 550), and it has been good to my skin.

The Body Shop Vitamin E Gentle Facial Wash

Quick Specs: 3.3 US fl oz; 100 ml made in UK

Ingredients

The Vitamin E Face Wash is practically packaged. I need pumps and tubes for cleansers, because bottles are honestly a pain in the ass to upturn and squeeze out. This is easy to dispense, and I found the snap lid to be so tight-fitting that I even found it tricky to open. In general, I’d still take a tight cap to one that accidentally opens in my overnight bag.

Previously, I’ve tried The Body Shop Vitamin E Cream Cleanser, but it just wasn’t my cup of tea. It felt heavy and greasy, like there was an oil slick coating my skin. I’m not sure if TBS has reformulated that cleanser since then, but this particular facial wash is a winner for me. It actually lathers up into a fine foam, so I get that clean feeling. It rinses off completely. No residue!

Right: Add more water and this foams up

After the wash, my skin doesn’t feel dry or tight. I did not suffer any reactions. It is super gentle on my skin. My only con is the scent that I can’t quite figure out. I think it’s from the soybean oil, the second ingredient. It has a light, tofu-like scent that I’m familiar with from my baking days. But then it transforms into something tart-sweet, like mayonnaise or strawberry chewy candy. Maybe you’ll like it, or maybe you won’t… The scent doesn’t linger, though.

Verdict: Funky scent aside, the Vitamin E Gentle Face Wash easily fits into my routine. I live for these skincare products that don’t react with the other stuff I’m using. It’s such a relief when you don’t have to wait two weeks for skin to adjust. I’m not sure if this applies to everyone, but it’s been kind to me.

 

One thought on “The Body Shop Vitamin E Gentle Facial Wash

Leave a Reply

