Etude House Berry Delicious Precious Mineral Any Cushion

The piece of makeup that probably wound me up the most this year has been the cushion compact. I definitely started as something of a hater, especially after I heard friends complain of how quickly the stuff runs out or dries up. But then again, there is a reason behind the raves. My dismissiveness shifted into curiosity and, inevitably, temptation. So when a press kit containing Etude House Berry Delicious Precious Mineral Any Cushion in Natural Beige (PHP 1,098) came my way, I couldn’t wait to start furiously patting.

Etude House Any Cushion (Berry Delicious)

Quick Specs: 0.52 oz. / 15 g ; made in Korea; SPF 50+ / PA+++

Ingredients

The packaging of all the pieces in the limited edition Berry Delicious collection are irresistible to me. I have given in to the lure of cutesy designs, so I won’t deny how tempting this K-beauty brand has made it. I even store my compact separately from my other makeup to avoid phantom scratches on the shiny surface.

Sealed

Application is nothing complicated. Bounce the sponge applicator over the sponge cushion to pick up the color, then pat onto the skin. It’s easy, but you have to be careful with the way you press the applicator to the cushion once the top starts to dry out. If you press too hard or too long (because you’re impatient like I am), it feels like the applicator just sops up all that product from the bottom. What a waste! I also heard that you can eventually flip the cushion over once you’re halfway through the compact.

I lucked out on the color that I got, #W13 Natural Beige, as it is a passable match. I think I could go darker and more yellow-toned, but available shades and undertones for this line is limited. Coverage is light to medium, with redness fading at the second layer. I think the high SPF is causing a white cast. There is a slight floral scent, but it doesn’t bother me and it doesn’t linger. Longevity is four hours before my nose and chin are devoid of makeup, while it stays on all day for the rest of my face.

By my estimate, a single compact will last a month with daily use. Because of the runny, easily-drying nature of the formula, this is the sort of product that you have to keep using continuously once opened. Refills are at PHP 578 a pop, though I was lucky enough to grab one on sale a month ago.

Verdict: Another first this year! I have been using the cushion compact on lazy days when I can’t even be bothered to get makeup caked on my fingers. The coverage is ideal for daily use, and so is the longevity. Now I just have to hoard refills…

*I received this product free-of-charge from Etude House after attending a media event for Project Vanity. I was not otherwise compensated to write this review. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own.*

4 thoughts on “Etude House Berry Delicious Precious Mineral Any Cushion

  1. […] Etude House Precious Mineral Any Cushion – I actually hoarded the refill from a sale last year, so I have a new refill already installed in the empty cushion case. This cushion is still the point of comparison for me when it comes to selecting cushion compacts. I adore the coverage  and how it wears beautifully under my foundation. […]

Leave a Reply

