Benefit The Porefessional Agent Zero Shine Shine-Vanishing Pro Powder

This is the perfect season to put face powders to the test! Right now, it’s the in-between period at the end of summer and just before the legit rainy season starts. There’s plenty of moisture, heat, and humidity to go around, so it’s time to see which makeup can be considered heavy-duty. Benefit The Porefessional Agent Zero Shine (PHP 1600; USD 30) is on the chopping block today, so let’s see how well it performs.

Benefit the Porefessional Shine-Vanishing Pro Powder

Ingredients: Talc, Nylon-12, Water, Magnesium Myristate, Lauroyl Lysine, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Phenoxyethanol, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Lens Esculenta (Lentil) Fruit Extract, Silica, Isoceteth-10, Ethylhexylglycerin, Aluminum Dimyristate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate. May Contain: CI 15850 (Red 6, Red 7, Red 7 Lake), CI 15985 (Yellow 6, Yellow 6 Lake), CI 19140 (Yellow 5, Yellow 5 Lake), CI 42090 (Blue 1 Lake), CI 45410 (Red 27, Red 27 Lake, Red 28 Lake), CI 73360 (Red 30, Red 30 Lake), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), CI 77288 (Chromium Oxide Greens), CI 77289 (Chromium Hydroxide Green), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyanide, Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide), CI 77742 (Manganese Violet), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide).

The plastic tube packaging is nothing short of brilliant. Finally, a beauty brand has been able to make the loose powder mess-free and mobile. It even includes a twist-lock dispenser (that works in keeping all the powder in!) and a twist-off mini brush at the base of the tube. The brush is so convenient, and I’ll admit to using it even for touching up blush when I don’t have my trusty fluffy powder brush with me!

One or two taps of the tube releases enough powder for one use. One tap is for getting rid of oily, shiny areas, while two taps is enough for all over the face as a setting powder. It has a translucent effect on my skin. It does not alter the color of my foundation and other base products, but I have read accounts of users saying that it messed up their foundation color. I guess it really depends on your skintone AND how much you put on. (A light dusting should suffice as I prefer not to use it as a setting powder.)

Orange-beige translucent powder

The longevity of the powder’s mattifying effect isn’t specifically longer than others. Let’s give it 3-4 hours wear time before the tip of my nose needs a retouch. That’s about the average amount of time that powder makeup lasts on me. It’s on the drier side of powders, but doesn’t particularly make my dry spots worse unless applied thickly.

Before

After: There seems to be a white cast in the pic, but I don’t see it in person

Verdict: I love having Agent Zero Shine in my bag, because it’s made for travel. The powder doesn’t look cakey when thinly applied to shiny areas, so  I can stand to skip the oil blotting paper. It’s on the pricey side, but definitely super handy.

2 thoughts on “Benefit The Porefessional Agent Zero Shine Shine-Vanishing Pro Powder

  1. I love this loose powder but yeah, it’s a bit pricey and it also doesn’t last long in my shelf. I was out after a week. I switched to MAC afterwards, Cheaper and can last up to a month and a half. 🙂

Leave a Reply

