Colourpop Lippie Stix in Pitch

I kind of went a little cray-cray this month (and the last) shopping for makeup that would fit with the weather change. It’s not necessarily gloomy (to represent rainy days) as I prefer to look at it as edgy. One of the shades that instantly stood out to me was Colourpop Lippie Stix in Pitch (USD 5). Not sure if it’s supposed to be grunge, but we’ll see how it works on the most non-grunge person in the world (i.e. me).

ffffddd

Colourpop Pitch

Quick Specs: 1.0 g / 0.0352 oz ; made in USA

*Photo from Colourpop website

*Photo from Colourpop website

This isn’t my first rodeo. I have two other Lippie Stix in my stash: I ❤ This and Flawless. Similar packaging and scent, but I have to say that the brown color of the lipstick coupled with the somewhat cloying vanilla fragrance does remind me of chocolate chips. I guess the color works in the scent’s favor this time around.

Pitch is, as the site describes, a rich blackened chocolate brown. It makes me think of chocolate syrup or melted dark chocolate. Colourpop does offer more yellowish browns, but this looks the least poop-ish on my skintone and naturally pigmented lips. It reminds me so much of melted chocolate that I’m tempted to lick my lips. (Um… Ugh?) Application drags on dry lips, but the pigment does instantly cling to the lips. And it wasn’t so hard to angle the lipstick, so I was able to apply without messing up my lip line. The finish still reflects some light, making it a cross between satin and matte.

It registers a bit darker in real life, and you can see how it settles on lip lines in this pic

The moisture level lasts comfortably up to 2.5 hours, around the time where I’ll take a meal. The color and formulation tends to settle on lip lines, and it also tends to migrate to the corners of my mouth when lips are moist (from water or food). After eating, either immediate reapplication or removal is necessary due to the obvious lipstick ring it forms. The post-food remnants of this particular brown lip color makes it look like I’ve been smoking for years and years. Teehee!

 

Verdict: I love the idea that you could step out of your color comfort zone with Colourpop and not spend a lot on an outlandish lipstick. Part of me was already consoling myself that at least it didn’t cost much, should the color look hideous on me. Luckily, I ended up appreciating the unique color and its level of intensity. It’s not something I would wear daily during the -ber months as I do plan to alternate with other dark, broody colors in my stash, but it is something I think I’d reach for in one of my monochromatic brown makeup moods.

6 thoughts on “Colourpop Lippie Stix in Pitch

  1. Love this color! I actually really love brown lipsticks – one of my favs (which is also from Colourpop) is Limbo! It’s a liquid lipstick so I find that it holds out pretty well throughout the day. Great post! 🙂

    • Okay, just googled it and it looks NICE. Pretty close to the Kylie trend. I still have to experiment more with liquid lipsticks. Right now, I’m still partial to regular lipsticks.

Leave a Reply

