Halloween FOTD: The Countess

Two Halloweens ago, I was bored and decided to do my best adaptation of Dr. Frank N Furter (“I’m just a sweet transvestite!”). It was fun, so I resolved to make it an annual thing. Sadly, I wasn’t able to do it last year as I was out of town on a trip. But I am stuck at home this year, so bring it on Halloween 2016!

I thought long and hard about what I would do, googling dragons, Disney villains, and even Jigsaw. But I stumbled upon Lady Gaga’s The Countess while looking for something witchy, and it just clicked! I’m a fan of American Horror Story, having tuned in since the second season. And while I was sad about Jessica Lange’s departure from the series, the addition of Lady Gaga softened the blow. Just hope she has a bigger role next season, if she continues with the series. (BTW, so curious to see how Roanoke will turn out. Not a fan of found footage stuff, but the story is intriguing enough to keep me going.)

Lady Gaga AHS

Lady Gaga AHS

See what products I used…

To create a smooth, pale base, I applied 2-3 layers of Tony Moly Goat Milk Pure CC Cream. Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation in Vanilla Clair is looking a little too pale on me these days, so on it goes. I made sure to use two layers of concealer, K-Palette Zero Kuma Type 2 and Etude House Surprise Concealer Kit (discontinued), to fade away dark circles, hyperpigmentation, and blemishes. Then I added Etude House Proof 10 Primer on the lids before baking my whole face with Marcks’ Bedak Beauty Powder.

Base Makeup

Base Makeup

To get as close to Gaga’s angular features as I can, the star of the show became Happy Skin Feeling Sculptacular Face Contour Kit. I basically followed the instructions on the packaging, contouring my forehead, temples, cheek hollows, jawline, inner brow bone, and nose. The highlighter was applied in lieu of blush and used to spotlight the top of my nose, chin, and undereye area.

Contour

Contour

How dare I attempt this with monolids?! So now I have to play around with eyeliner and eyeshadow contouring. Okay, this was the part that took forever.

Caught in a bad romance…

To exaggerate my socketline, I used Bobbi Brown Metallic Eyeshadow in Burnt Sugar to create the contour. I deepened that with the darkest shade on my Revlon Colorstay Eyeshadow Quad (discontinued). Then used the medium and light shades from my Tarte Tartelette Tease Palette to fill in the rest of my lids. For the over-the-top winged eyeliner, I reached for Mary Kay Liquid Eyeliner Pen in Black. I have a pot of semi-dried Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner in Espresso Ink, so I decided to poke at it to deepen the black. No falsies here, so I defined my lashes with Revlon Ultimate All-In-One Mascara. For brows, I lightened the brow hair strands with concealer earlier, but just defined from the head to the middle part for a more straight-brow illusion with K-Palette Real Lasting Brow Mascara in 102 Natural Brown.

Eyes

Eyes

Channeling Gaga’s glossy, bloody lips by applying Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in Sugar Plum. I dabbed on Chateau Labiotte Wine Lip Tint in RD01 onto the corners of my mouth and to create that bloody dribble. Darkened that with Avon Glazewear Liquid Lip Color in G401 (discontinued). Dabbed on a little Happy Skin Shut Up & Kiss Me Lippie in Naughty and Nice as a finishing touch to re-emphasize the plum.

Lips

Lips

And voila!

Bloodlust

 

Images from Bustle and Gaga Images.

Leave a Reply

