Etude House Proof 10 Eye Primer

I am the most stubborn person when it comes to primers. I seldom buy eyeshadows these days (because hoarder), so I try to opt for ones known for their longevity when I am in the rare mood to make a purchase. But the reality is that I still have some average longevity shadows in my stash, and it’s a waste to see them festering away because they don’t last on my lids long enough. I eventually convinced myself to get Etude House Proof 10 Eye Primer (P298) after getting several recommendations from friends and reading raves.

Etude House Proof10 Eye Primer

Etude House Proof10 Eye Primer

Quick Specs: 10 g / 0.35 oz ; made in Korea

Ingredients

Ingredients

Aaah, so this is the eyeshadow primer that people have taken to cutting open with box cutters? Intriguing… The primer is housed in a clear, tiny plastic bottle with curved sides and a stopper at the mouth. It features an elongated lid with a standard-sized doe foot applicator at the end. It is safe to assume that the bottle is quite durable from the box cutter hacks circulating on the net.

Inside is the creamy, baby pink primer that’s lightweight and non-sticky. To keep the doe foot applicator from staining with my base makeup, I prefer to put the product on the back of my hand first, then use my ring finger to dab onto the lids instead of direct application. This method is also effective in preventing over-application of the eye primer. In large amounts, it does have a tendency to make shadow look cakey and gross, so don’t use too much. If applied sparingly, the cream goes on smoothly, dries fast, and blends in without disrupting the foundation and concealer underneath. Finally, everything is set with powder and eyeshadow is ready to be applied.

Left: With primer; right: no primer

While Etude House claims that the primer is waterproof, I have yet to test it out while swimming or during heavy rainfall (lol), but I do know that it survives humid weather well. Some primers can help with longevity of shadows, some can intensify pigmentation, and some can even out the color of the eyelids. This particular one does the former two impressively. I notice that my shadows with average longevity do effectively stay on all day, and it becomes easier to pack them on. The exception is with sparkle pigments that don’t adhere as intensely to the newly smoothed surface of the lids. But they can still be built up and don’t crease as easily. Also, some of the less long-lasting shadows take a little longer to crease, but they still crease anyway. It really depends on the shadow formula to begin with.

Note: Just as the Etude House lid primer keeps eyeshadows locked in, it also makes it a little trickier to remove them at the end of the day. Micellar water on cotton can dissolve it, but I notice that rinse-off makeup removers need to be used twice or thrice to completely eliminate the last of it.

Verdict: It’s good to have one of these on-hand, especially if you’re just building up your shadow collection and are just starting to discover which brands are known for their pigmentation and longevity. This primer saves me from shadow wastage, and I get why the formula itself is worth the purchase (and the cracking open with a cutter eventually).

One thought on “Etude House Proof 10 Eye Primer

Leave a Reply

