Maybelline The Colossal Big Shot Volum Express Waterproof Mascara

The first time I was really and truly wowed at the prowess of a mascara was when I got my hands on a tube of Maybelline Volum’ Express The Falsies. I’ve been a Volum’ Express since their first few editions were released, and I always loved how it didn’t take much effort to get noticeable length and volume. Then The Falsies changed the game with unprecedented levels (at the time) of luscious lashes for less, and I went through about 3 repurchases of the beloved stuff.

Now, the beloved line is back at it again with Maybelline The Colossal Big Shot Volum’ Express Waterproof Mascara in Very Black (USD 8.49). (Cue Celine Dion’s It’s All Coming Back to Me Now.)

Maybelline The Colossal Big Shot Mascara

Maybelline The Colossal Big Shot Mascara

Quick Specs: 9.5 ml / 0.32 fl oz ; made in USA ; ophthalmologist tested

Ingredients

Ingredients

Since the time I started using Maybelline mascaras, I noticed that the packaging has progressively gotten bolder and flashier. The Colossal Big Shot is in a metallic yellow tube that definitely stands out in any vanity and makeup bag.

The mascara wand has many short, densely-packed bristles spread evenly in a slightly twisting fashion. It grabs a lot of formula from the tube and deposits a healthy amount on the lashes. The current trend is to get a fuller, lusher look by continuously building up mascara for 30 strokes on each eye. I’ve been doing that with the other mascaras I use, but I notice that 15 strokes already achieves the desired results, equal amounts of length and volume, for The Colossal. Less effort, more effect!

Left: With Maybelline The Colossal ; Right: Bare Lashes

Left: With Maybelline The Colossal ; Right: Bare Lashes

Using a lash curler is recommended as the formula doesn’t add curl, nor does it hold curl by itself. Though the product claims to be waterproof, I did experience some smudging on the outer corners of my lashes at the 4-6 hour mark, though I have been told that the culprit could be my cheeks smooshing up at the corners. So I recommend curling beforehand and not applying too much in order to avoid smudges.

 

Verdict: Smudgy corner lashes have always been my issue with Maybelline mascaras, waterproof and washable alike, but I can’t speak for everyone as it could be my eye shape. I do love that a few swipes is all it takes to get the definition I need. It will certainly help me breeze through my routine.

*I received this product free-of-charge as part of campaign by Maybelline and Influenster. I was not otherwise compensated for this review. Opinions expressed here are entirely my own.*

 

Leave a Reply

