Pink Sugar Honey I’m Good Eyebrow Kit

It’s complicated.

Despite being a makeup lover and a little bit of a hoarder, there are times when I have an incredible lack of foresight when it comes to beauty innovations. It’s that fear that trying out a new type of product will bring about the discovery of an overpriced dud, or that I end up liking something that is more complicated than I care to invest time in. But I am only too glad that that wasn’t the case with Pink Sugar Honey I’m Good Eyebrow Kit in Perfect Taupe (P399), because I’ve since momentarily forgotten about brow pencils in favor of this brow quad.

Pink Sugar Honey I'm Good Eyebrow Kit

Pink Sugar Honey I’m Good Eyebrow Kit

Quick Specs: 7.1 g

As I mentioned above, shifting to a brow quad that you have to mix and match takes a bit more concentration and effort than just using a humble brow pencil. But Honey I’m Good makes it an easier transition. The kit contains three powders in various shades of brown and one wax that’s the darkest of them all. They’re all stored in a handy compact with a decent-sized mirror and a slot that fits two applicators, a domed-top brush (looks like a miniature foundation brush) and an angled brush. Both are made of flexible, synthetic bristles. While I prefer to use another (bigger, longer) brush when I’m at home, I find the minis sufficient for corrections, touch-ups, or on-the-go application.

Clockwise From Top Left: Brow Wax, Darkest Powder, Lightest Powder, and Medium Powder

Clockwise From Top Left: Brow Wax, Darkest Powder, Lightest Powder, and Medium Powder

Swatched: Brow wax, darkest shade, medium shade, and lightest shade

Swatched: Brow wax, darkest shade, medium shade, and lightest shade

No joke, it didn’t take me long to figure out how to combine colors for a custom brow color. (It didn’t hurt that the powders are nice and blendable.) Using the tips I learned from the workshops I’ve attended, I take the darkest powder and used it to map the bottom of the brow with an angled synthetic brush. That dark outline is lightened by sweeping the brush upwards, so that the inside of the brows can be partially filled-in already. To map the top of the brows, I use the lightest powder to emphasize the arch. Then I fill in from the tail inwards by using the medium shade. That middle color happens to be a touch reddish, making it a workable match to my current hair color. Lastly, I use the colored wax to stamp on hair-like strokes on sparse areas near the tail.

Compatible with my hair color, a reddish medium brown towards the bottom that I’m currently growing out

Most important feature to note: ALL the colors in this kit are impressively pigmented. It’s a good thing I handled the powders gingerly when I first tried this eyebrow kit. I also swatched the colors on the back of my hand to help me decide which colors go where. My Pink Sugar brows last all day on me with no noticeable fading. When my brow area gets oily, I am able to lightly dab an oil blotting sheet without disturbing the overall color.

 

Verdict: If you like your brow makeup like you like your lipsticks (i.e. easy to apply and pigmented), then you’re in for a treat with this Pink Sugar brow kit. However, I suggest swatching first to see if the shades are workable for your hair color.

*I received this product free-of-charge from Pink Sugar after attending a media event for Project Vanity. I was not otherwise compensated to write this review. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own.*

2 thoughts on “Pink Sugar Honey I’m Good Eyebrow Kit

Leave a Reply

