COSRX Acne Pimple Master Patch

Being the nostalgic person that I am, there are moments when I look back on being a high school student and romanticize on not having to do anything but study and hang out with friends. But then I remember how annoying puberty is, and I’m suddenly okay with being an adult again. For one, I get far less pimples! And for those moments where I have to deal, there are solutions like COSRX Acne Pimple Master Patch (PHP 180 from BeautyMNL).

COSRX

COSRX Acne Pimple Master Patch

Quick Specs: 24 patches (assorted small, medium, and large sizes) ; made in Korea

Ingredients

Ingredients

There are 2 types of pimple products that I’ve always found handy to have in stock at home: First, there’s a stronger toner like Clinique Clarifying Lotion 2 for days when I’m feeling a little too oily or feeling like there’s a ton of residue on my skin. Second, there’s a drying lotion—I’ve tried Mario Badescu Drying Lotion and a similar one from Etude House—for spot treating sudden zits and smaller pimples. Methinks I should add the pimple patch as the third essential! The resealable bag doesn’t take up a lot of space in the vanity, and there are plenty of patches (in different sizes) to go around.

In the bag: Instructions and patches hygienically sealed in plastic

In the bag: Instructions and patches hygienically sealed in plastic

I learned from Project Vanity (link warning: actual popped pimple pics + thorough review can be found there) that it has to be used on a freshly popped pimple. The patch is supposed to absorb all the gross stuff and keep the broken skin dry. That helps it heal faster.

Patches up close

Patches up close

After using it twice for two separate pimple occurrences, I do notice that it has successfully prevented the area from producing more pus. Ever notice how, after you get a popped pimple the first time, the area produces a second round of pimple the next day? That happens to me, and cleaning as well as patching up the pimple eliminates that grossness. I like to apply the patch before bed, so that I won’t be tempted to touch my face or move my facial muscles and accidentally loosen the adhesion of the patch. Though, in all fairness, it hasn’t come loose even when used during my waking hours.

s

Minimal scabbing

Best Results: Less scabbing! If I pop a pimple, clean it with a little alcohol-based toner on a cotton pad, then leave it be, there tends to be slight “overspillage” of scab formation, instead of just the dot where the pimple erupted. As in, the scab might be bigger than the area or perhaps elevated as opposed to flat. With this patch, there is but the tiniest dot of scab left behind, and it isn’t hard to cover up with concealer, compared to a raised scab that has obvious dimension even when cover-up gets rid of the discoloration.

Verdict: Where was this when I was in high school?! The second pimple I had to use this patch on was a cystic one, and I’m impressed that it healed quicker (and more evenly!). Manage your expectation: It does still leave behind an acne scar, darkened area in my case, but nothing my base makeup can’t fix. Minimal scabbing is already a sweet deal, and I’ll take that!

One thought on “COSRX Acne Pimple Master Patch

  1. I just bought a bunch of these! I was using the 3M ones but the Corsx are cheaper. I love how it draws out the “gunk”. I know what you mean, where were these when I was a teenager?!

Leave a Reply

