Catrice Cosmetics Healthy Look Matiffying Powder

I have a bunch of products I’ve saved specifically to use for summer. I guess I do end up changing my lineup per season, but it also serves the purpose of helping me rigorously try out items during the times that they are most needed. And to start off my summer lineup is Catrice Cosmetics Healthy Look Matiffying Powder in 010 Luminous Light (PHP 499)

Catrice Healthy Look Mattifying Powder

Quick Specs: 9 g / 0.31 oz ; made in Poland

Catrice doesn’t fall short on the fancy-looking visuals front for a more pro artist look. The packaging is a sleek, see-through plastic case that showcases the multi-colored mosaic design of the powder and the pretty diamond stamped pattern, but it doesn’t have a mirror or an included puff. So while the slim case fits nicely into a travel makeup pouch, you’ll still need to rely on a separate mirror for touch ups.

There are actual individual shades of peach, beige, and porcelain that go into the finely-milled powder, but they do blend together seamlessly on the skin. And even if you swatch them with fingers, the shade differences are quite subtle. Application is smooth and effortless, and the fine powder gets diffused without disturbing the makeup underneath. (BTW, I use a fluffy powder blush to apply!) The effect is a translucent matte that is at par with good quality setting powders out in the market. It absorbs into the skin to look natural, rather than a very flat, obvious matte.

Subtle variation in color on the middle finger vs. the ring finger

Longevity is at 2-3 hours on my combination-dry skin before it starts to get shiny on the nose and the surrounding area. I like that the finish eventually gives way to a lived-in, dewy look. Like, if I just blot at my T-zone and retouch on the tip of my nose, it’s not obvious that I have a layer of powder on. Also, this powder has no SPF.

Verdict: I am a fan of translucent powders that come in compact form. For my personal needs, I would’ve preferred having an included sponge or puff to make the Healthy Look Translucent Mattifying Powder more portable for when I don’t want to lug a powder brush around. But it is remediable, because the lid leaves enough space for a thin puff that you can purchase from your local beauty supply store. Other than that, it does the job, and does it well.

*I received this product free-of-charge from Catrice Cosmetics for assisting in an event that the company I work for helped organized. I was not paid or otherwise compensated for this review. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own.

Leave a Reply

