Aveda Botanical Kinetics Purifying Creme Cleanser

The other day, I got to thinking about my cleansing habits. I can’t imagine going without the two-step method of using a designated makeup remover first (micellar, bi-phase, cleansing oil, etc.) followed by a foaming facial wash. But when I was in high school and college, I only used to go for a heavy foam, heavy-duty (read: drying) facial wash and and proceeded with a cotton soaked with an alcohol-based toner. In retrospect, yikes.

Anyway, I’m much more particular about cleansers nowadays due to my dry skin. And since I’ve read a lot of raves about Aveda products, I decided to give Aveda Botanical Kinetics Purifying Creme Cleanser (USD 25 for 5 fl oz / 150ml) a shot.

Aveda

Quick Specs: made in USA

Ingredients

The cleanser is housed in a simple twist-to-lock pump bottle that’s easy to bring on travel, providing you can put a little bit of tape at the to prevent unintended twisting of the pump. (BTW, there is also the Aveda Botanical Kinetics Purifying Gel Cleanser available in the Philippines via Zalora.)

With this cream cleanser, I didn’t really know what to expect, apart from the claim on the bottle that it removes makeup and works for normal to dry skin types. And at first use, my immediate impression was of the mild herbal scent I got from the bottle that I can describe as a blend of crushed leaves, chamomile, and something woody-spicy. When applied directly to the face, that scent intensifies, particularly the woody (cedar? sandalwood?) and peppery notes. So if you’re not a fan of Ayurvedic spa scents, this might not be your cup of tea. Personally, I don’t mind the change of scenery. Everything I’ve used lately smells like flowers or candy.

The creamy cleanser offers zero foam, and it has an unusual way of removing makeup. When applied to damp hands and massaged on the face, the makeup separates from the skin and turns into this cakey layer that makes my face look like a wax figure’s. It doesn’t quite emulsify, so barely any of the makeup comes off when rinsed with just water. (Again, refer to wax figure reference.) I have to follow this up with a foaming facial wash, and then the makeup comes off easily after rinsing.

This particular cleanser doesn’t leave my skin feeling tight afterwards. But unfortunately, the formula does sting my eyes something fierce, so I’m a little wary of using it to remove mascara and eyeliner. (In all fairness, the instructions say to avoid contact with the eyes, meaning I’ll have to use a separate eye makeup remover. Ugh, extra steps!)

 

Verdict: I prefer my first-step cleansers to rinse off most of the makeup already before I proceed to a foaming face wash. So as an all-over makeup remover, Aveda Creme Cleanser leaves something to be desired. I can use this as a morning face wash instead, for when I’m not required to thoroughly cleanse.

Leave a Reply

