The Saem Cover Perfection Concealer

How high does concealer rank on your absolute must-haves? It’s right up there on my Top 3, along with lipstick and brow pencil. In fact, that’s one of the first things I started learning to use, because of dark circle issues. And to this day, concealer shopping is a hit or miss, be it drugstore finds or high-end brands. So for today, I’ve got two drugstore-priced Kbeauty ones here to judge: The Saem Cover Perfection Tip Concealer in 1.5 Natural Beige (PHP 320) and The Saem Cover Perfection Pot oncealer in 01 Clear Beige (PHP 180) from Althea Korea.

Quick Specs: Tip Concealer at 3.8 g ; Pot Concealer at 4 g ; made in Korea

I initially wanted to do a separate review but, spoiler alert, I found that the concealers have two different functions. They address different areas of the face. (At least, in my experience.) So let’s compare and contrast instead:

Packaging – The Tip Concealer is in a tube with a doe foot applicator, while the Pot Concealer is in a sturdy plastic pot/jar. Both are lightweight and travel-friendly, so I do end up taking both with me in my daily makeup bag.

Application and Coverage – Medium coverage with a dry cream (almost balm-like) texture for the Pot Concealer that applies with a bit of drag, and then there’s full coverage creamy liquid for the Tip Concealer that is best when patted on. This is where the difference becomes particularly significant. The full coverage, highly spreadable nature of the liquid concealer makes it more suitable for redness on the cheeks, hyperpigmentation, and blemishes. On the other hand, the texture of the pot concealer may initially be counterintuitive to use on dark circles, but it actually becomes a plus later on. See “Longevity”.

Color – 01 Clear Beige of the Pot Concealer is light and peach-toned, while 1.5 Natural Beige on the Tip Concealer is also light but beige-toned. For my NC15 – NC20 skin, both do leave a peachy tint on my yellow-toned skin. I have to set with powder foundation to correct the tinting.

Left: Pot Concealer; Right: Tip Concealer

Longevity – The Pot Concealer has the better longevity of the two, especially for the under eye area. Chalk it up to the thicker, drier consistency. While it initially creases a little on the undereye 10-20 minutes after applying setting powder, a few light pats of the ring finger on the area are enough to help it set for the rest of the day. It also doesn’t settle at the very base of the fine lines, unlike the Tip Concealer.

Concealing Dark Circles. Your Left: Pot Concealer (minor creasing that can be patted into place) ; Your Right: Tip Concealer (tendency to settle deep into fine lines

Verdict: Both have received good reviews around the net for having great coverage. From my personal experience, I would attest to the raves. They perform well across the board. But if I could only pick one, I would go for the Cover Perfection Pot Concealer. My priority is to conceal dark circles, and one that works for my undereyes with minimal creasing usually does the trick with blemishes as well. And for only PHP 180, it is most definitely a steal.

8 thoughts on “The Saem Cover Perfection Concealer

  1. How would you compare these ones to the Maybelline concealer? I’ve only ever tried the maybelline ones and am looking for some more to test out! Love your post, would love to hear your thoughts and feedback on my blog sometime 😉

  2. I need the pot concealer for my dark circles. Pink Sugar concealer sets well and doesn’t budge all day, but the darkness still peeks through. The peach tone of the pot concealer seems like it would help!

    • I heard so many great things about Pink Sugar concealer, but couldn’t find a shade match. 😦 Waiting for the range to expand, so that I can finally give it a try!

  3. Thanks so much for the breakdown. I have the tip one but just received the pot one. I enjoy the tip one but now I really want to break out the pot to try on my under eyes!!

    • I was so amazed that I got that level of coverage for P180. The last concealer I had in the below-P200 range (from years ago) barely covered anything up and creased like crazy.

Leave a Reply

