Kiehl’s Calendula Deep Cleansing Foaming Face Wash

So… I’m back from a months-long hiatus! This was completely unintentional, but I had to go on a trip and make up for missing work. And then when I was about to start writing again, there were issues with my photo hosting site that rendered a good half of the blog entries here photo-less. (Arg!) Long story short, I got a little overwhelmed and decided to take a break, so I wouldn’t put too much pressure on myself and burn out. But I’m back now, and I’m gradually fixing old blog entries to regain their photos.

In my extended leave of absence, I had the chance to re-evaluate my beauty collection and rotate skincare and makeup products, so this gave me a chance to try out a bunch of new stuff that I can’t wait to share. Without further ado, let’s get things started (again) with Kiehl’s Calendula Deep Cleansing Foaming Face Wash (P1,725).

Kiehls Calendula Deep Cleansing Face Wash Quick Specs: 7.8 fl oz / 230 ml ; made in USA Kiehls Calendula Ingredients The calendula cleanser is housed in a sturdy plastic bottle and has a twist-to-unlock pump with a narrow opening at the end. There are two things I’d like to point out here: One, I’ve accidentally dropped the bottle once or twice already, and it hasn’t suffered any damage from the fall. Two, that small tip at the end of the pump actually dispenses more than enough of the gel formula to cover face and neck with lather. I actually only need to use half a pump per wash. Otherwise, the formula becomes drying on my already-dry skin. Kiehls Foaming Face Wash

When using just the right amount (1/2 pump), I find that the soap-free and sulfate-free Kiehl’s calendula facial wash produces a low albeit active lather that effectively removes remaining traces of makeup and other impurities. My skin feels clean afterwards, but a little tight when too much is used. Then again, the calendula line is meant for normal to oily skin types anyway, so there’s actually nothing wrong with the way it cleans.

Kiehls Calendula Face Wash Kiehls Calendula Facial Wash

I’ve noticed that the Kiehl’s calendula line, save for the new masque, has a slight buttery scent. It is most pronounced on the toner and you only catch hints of it here. For the most part, I get a faint citrusy whiff that doesn’t linger, a good choice for folks who don’t like strong scents on their skincare. Another thing I’ve noticed is the product build-up on the pump when I don’t get to use it for a day or two. It’s this little ball of rubbery gel-type residue that causes the pump to occasionally “splurt” out product. Gotta remove that first so as not to waste the precious Kiehl’s wash.

20170828_145623

Verdict:ย For a facial wash, the Kiehl’s Calendula Foaming Face Wash is definitely on the pricier end of the spectrum. However, it must be noted that a little goes a long way. I’ve been using it for a good month, and I’ve only managed to use up a sixth of the entire bottle.

*I received this product free-of-charge from Kiehl’s after attending aย media event for Project Vanity. I was not otherwise compensated to write this review. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own.*

Leave a Reply

